glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stephen Jay Gould

It is in the death flow 4:20 PM Thursday afternoon. It has been one of those days you soon forget. It is still cold and gray outside as type out these words. I wonder if in November it will snow. Our daughter Bethany and her family plan to visit us next month. I hope when Beth, Andy and the kids come it is nice weather.

I did mow the lawn and rake leaves this afternoon. After working outside I came inside cleaned up and dozed. I have not heard from Carol since this morning.

Yesterday I mentioned I found only two used books while visiting local thrift stores. One of the used books I found was titled, 'Leonardo's Mountain Of Clams And The Diet Of Worms: Essays On Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould. I got out of our library the books we have by Stephen Jay Gould. I collect Gould's writings, because even though I do not agree with his views on creation he is an interesting writer. Here is a list of books we have by Gould-

'Leonardo's Mountain Of Clams And The Diet Of Worms: Essays On Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

'The Flamingo's Smile: Reflections in Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

'An Urchin In The Storm: Essays about Books and Ideas' by Stephen Jay Gould

'The Panda's Thumb: More Reflections In Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

'Bully for Brontosaurus: Reflections in Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

'Hen's Teeth And Horse's Toes: Further Reflections In Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

'Questioning The Millennium: A Rationalists Guide To A Precisely Arbitrary Countdown' by Stephen Jay Gould

'The Mismeasure of Man' personality tests by Stephen Jay Gould

'I have landed: The End Of A Beginning In Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould

I have been reading in the book,'Leonardo's Mountain Of Clams And The Diet Of Worms: Essays On Natural History' by Stephen Jay Gould an essay titled, 'War Of The Worldviews' chapter 18.

So this day crawls by. I am finding the days to be very long and empty with my wife being near me. Well I suppose I will close to read 'Ascent of Mount Carmel' by St. John of the Cross. All one can do is wait for the New Creation. It will soon be over.

"[10] But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
[11] Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,
[12] Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?
[13] Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.
[14] Wherefore, beloved, seeing that ye look for such things, be diligent that ye may be found of him in peace, without spot, and blameless." Second Peter 3:10-14

4:40 p.m. - 2017-10-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4