glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

principles of biblical interpretation

It is 12:39 PM Friday afternoon on a warm sunny day. The weather this week has been nice.

I am very tired, but decided I had to write something in my online diaries since I only posted photos yesterday. Having our granddaughters visiting us has caused my quiet life to be busy and not time to sit down and write down existence. Plus I am so tired I am not thinking straight.

This afternoon Carol and Lou are downtown having lunch with our daughter-in-law Emily and our granddaughter Josie Joy. I stayed home to recover from yesterday.

We had a Block Party last night and it went well.

This morning we took Lou to Doughnutville, Kollen Park, and the Herrick District Library. While we were at the library I visited the Book Nook and talked to Mary and Maratha two women who volunteer at the Book Nook. I forgot to mention this morning before we went to Doughnutville we went to a garage sale that had advertised they had books from the 18th century and the 1950's. What they had at this garage sale were old magazines and old children's books Nothing like modern literature. I did buy one old edition of the novel 'The Black Arrow' by Robert Louis Stevenson published in 1947 hardback with original slip cover. When I was paying for this old book they lady who took my two dollars rip off the price tag and damaged my perfect edition of this old classic! That made me sick, but people in general treat books like shit. People generally are savages.

So the morning went by. While at the library Book Nook I picked up a paperback titled, 'Hemingway: The Paris Years' biography by Michael Reynolds.

Yesterday morning while Carol was gone to pick up Louisa in Grand Rapids I visited a near by thrift store and found these used books to ADD to our library-

'Principles Of Biblical Interpretation' by L. Berkhof

'Pastoral Theology: Essentials Of Ministry' by Thomas C. Oden

'A Sense Of History: The Best Writing from the Pages of American Heritage'

'The Arsenal Of Democracy: FDR, Detroit, And An Epic Quest To Arm An America At War' by A. J. Baime

'The Civil War: A Narrative Fort Sumter To Perryville' by Shelby Foote

I have been mainly reading the last two days when time allowed from these two books-

'One Man's Meat' essays by E.B. White

'Once Upon a Time: A Floating Opera' by John Barth

I could write more but my brain is not functioning so I will close to drift.

1:02 p.m. - 2017-06-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
patheticness
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8