glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to wake people up from the dream of nightmare existence

It is in the flow of divine providence 12:16 PM Thursday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold sunny day.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast and warmed up coffee made last night. I ate my breakfast messing with our main computer. Every morning I go to our main computer to see what is going on in the World and to check for e-mail. After glancing at the News and looking at e-mail I read music reviews and watch BookTube videos. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and then read for awhile from a book titled, "The Christian's Only Comfort In Life And Death: An Exposition of the Heidelberg Catechism" Volume 1 by Theodorus VanderGroe. As I was reading this book my wife arrived home from work. The time was 8:30 AM when Carol got home. She is now off three nights from work.

Yesterday was our granddaughter Louisa May's birthday, she is now three years old. Emily our daughter-in-law was in Phoenix for a conference and was able to attend Lou's birthday. That was nice. Carol and I wish we could have been there to celebrate Lou's birthday. Emily sent a video of the birthday party and a photo of Andy, Beth, Lou, Marn, and baby Jack.

After Carol went to bed to sleep for awhile I left the house to visit thrift stores in search of used books to ADD to our library. I found these used books today-

"Defenders of the Faith: Charles V, Suleyman The Magnificent, And The Battle For Europe 1520-1536" by James Reston, Jr.

"The Decline & Fall Of The Ottoman Empire" by Alan Palmer

"Vermeer's Hat: The Seventeenth Century and the Dawn of the Global World" by Timothy Brook

"The Man Who Made Lists: Love, Death, Madness, and the Creation of Roget's Thesaurus" by Joshua Kendall

"The Abacus And The Cross: The Story of the Pope Who Brought the Light of Science to the Dark Ages" by Nancy Marie Brown

"The Scratch of a Pen 1793 and the Transformation of North America" by Colin G. Calloway

"Malory: The Knight Who Became King Arthur's Chronicler" biography by Christina Hardyment

"Sea of Faith: Islam and Christianity in the Medieval Mediterranean World" by Stephen O'Shea

"The First Crusade: A New History The Roots Of Conflict Between Christianity And Islam" by Thomas Asbridge

"For Prophet and Tsar: Islam And Empire In Russia And Central Asia" by Robert D. Crews

After visiting thrift stores I came home to drift through the afternoon hours.

Last night I mainly read late into the night a book titled, "John Maynard Keynes 1883-1946: Economist, Philosopher, Statesman" by Robert Skidelsky.

Well I suppose I will close to get a cup of coffee and watch the birds by our bird feeder. Existence keeps speeding by!

12:43 p.m. - 2017-03-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
whystinger
catsoul
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4