glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a message from a LJ friend

from calico_pye
Hello Jonny,
I understand. It's quite hard here, too. Such a terrible backlash over Brexit, people using it as a reason to incite racial hatred. our government has really slashed the welfare bill, making it criminal to be poor. Hard times. It doesn't help that a lot of our popular media is quite right wing (mostly Murdoch) and therefore heavily biased. I tend to read The Guardian more these days - a bit more balanced and it does seem to have a humanitarian core.
The only way I try to see things now, is trying to look for the good in everything. Beautiful scenery, loving family, friends and pets. On Facebook, I purposely subscribe to uplifting channels that show random acts of kindness and selfless behaviour. I know just how skewed the media is, Jonny - I understand what is going on and why, but I strive to find other things too, or I would be REALLy bogged down.
Does writing help a bit? I was wondering if you ever go to local book clubs/reading circles. How's the photography going? You have taken some lovely ones of your family and I really enjoy seeing the nature/wild life ones that you post. Such interesting birds that we don't get here in the UK - saying that, though, we do have an estuary nearby and a lot of the birds stop off there before migrating. We've got a huge amount of Canadian geese of all things. The bird watchers are quite fascinated.
I will close for now, but I am hoping that things will get better for you soon. love to you and your wife and family.
Rosie :-)
--- crookedfingers wrote:
> I think the whole Presidential elections had really gotten to me. I have never seen it so bad in America lately. I want the best for all people and it seems there are so many powerful forces in the world/America to destroy people-make life miserable for millions of Americans and the citizens of the world-it is all very sad.
> --- calico_pye wrote:
> > Jonny,
> >
> > Why are you so sad? Is there anything that can be done to make you feel better?
> >
> > Rosie.

3:34 p.m. - 2016-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4