glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend Reads



Books mentioned in this video-

"The Lunar Men: The Friends Who Made The Future" biography by Jenny Uglow

"Pinkerton's Sister" a novel by Peter Rushforth

"A Dead Language" a novel by Peter Rushforth

"God has Spoken in his Son: A biblical theology of Hebrews" by Peter T. O'Brien

"Commentary On Hebrews" by Thomas R. Schreiner

"The Race Set Before Us: A Biblical Theology of Perseverance & Assurance" by Thomas R. Schreiner & Ardel B. Caneday

"New Testament Introduction" by Donald Guthrie

"New Testament Introduction" Revised Edition by Donald Guthrie

"New Testament Theology" by Donald Guthrie

"Hebrews" A New Translation With Introduction And Commentary By Craig R. Koester

"Commentary On Hebrews" [New International Greek Testament Commentary] by Paul Ellingworth

"The Letter To The Hebrews" [The Pillar New Testament Commentary] by Peter T. O'Brien

Many years ago when I was working as farm laborer I would buy good Christian books to comfort me in my state of despair and exhaustion. As a book worm one always wants to read the very best literature. I have over the years collected a library of Christian books to have near me as I wait for death. I am always wondering what books I will have by my bedside as I am dying. I know for sure I will have a King James translation of the Holy Bible. I still believe I will have someplace in my death cell "The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross". Maybe I will have no books near me. I might be in a coma or have lost my mind.

Carol has been gone all day. She went to church this morning and then drove to Grand Rapids to visit her older brother in a hospital. She told me she would be home in time to go to church tonight. All we can do is wait to find out if she gets home alive. We can be killed off anytime. Our days are numbered by our heavenly Father.

I have been reading this afternoon from a book titled, "A Visit To Don Otavio: A Mexican Journey" by Sybille Bedford.

Tonight there is a college football game we plan to watch. Carol works this week Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.

Well I will close to read and wait to see what the future holds for us.

"[7] Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.
[8] Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.
[9] Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness.
[10] Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.
[11] Speak not evil one of another, brethren. He that speaketh evil of his brother, and judgeth his brother, speaketh evil of the law, and judgeth the law: but if thou judge the law, thou art not a doer of the law, but a judge.
[12] There is one lawgiver, who is able to save and to destroy: who art thou that judgest another?
[13] Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain:
[14] Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.
[15] For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.
[16] But now ye rejoice in your boastings: all such rejoicing is evil.
[17] Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin." James 4:7-17

3:50 p.m. - 2016-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4