glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holiness in Israel

It is 2:44 PM Saturday afternoon. It is now hot humid and sticky after raining all morning and into the early afternoon hours.

This morning I left the house around 8:20 AM to go to the Holland Farmer's Market and to the AAUW Used Books Sale. The Farmer's Market is right where the used books sale was at so when I got fresh food I put it in my old Dodge van and went to the used books sale. Here is a list of the used books I found today to add to our library-

"Scandal" a novel by Shusaku Endo Translated from the Japanese by Van C. Gessel

"Candor & Perversion: Literature, Education, And The Arts" essays by Roger Shattuck

"Fair Warning" a novel by Robert Olen Butler

"Saturday Night and Sunday Morning" a novel by Alan Sillitoe

"On Histories And Stories" Selected Essays by A. S. Byatt

"African Calliope: A Journey to the Sudan" travel memoir by Edward Hoagland

"Love In The Ruins" a novel by Walker Percy

"The Grandmothers:Four Short Novels" by Doris Lessing

"Present At The Creation: My Years In The State Department" autobiography by Dean Acheson

"Resurrection: The Struggle For A New Russia" by David Remnick

"Soon to be a Major Motion Picture" autobiography by Abbie Hoffman

"A Few Short Notes on Tropical Butterflies" Stories by John Murray

"Waiting For Sunrise" a novel by William Boyd

My time was limited this morning at the used books sale because I had to be at the Herrick District Public Library Used Books Store to do my volunteer shift starting at 10 o'clock AM. So I paid for my used books and drove over to the library. The book nook was busy today so I had little time to read. When I had time to read I read some more of the novel "Pinkerton's Sister" by Peter Rushforth. While at the library book nook I noticed in some one had donated a couple boxes of Christian academic books and I bought these for our library-

"The Tragic Vision And The Hebrew Tradition" by W. Lee Humphreys

"Daniel in His Time" [Studies on Personalities of the Old Testament] by Andre LaCocque

"Paul And His Converts" (The Sprunt Lectures 1985) by Ernest Best

"Paul And The Popular Philosophers" (Apostle Paul/New Testament) by Abraham J. Malherbe

"The Mediation of Christ" Christology by Thomas F. Torrance

"A Theology Of The New Testament" by George Eldon Ladd

"From Creation To New Creation" (Old Testament Perspectives) by Bernard W. Anderson

"Paul and the Thessalonians: The Philosophic Tradition of Pastoral Care" by Abraham J. Malherbe

"Jesus Christ Our Lord: Christology from a Disciple's Perspective" by C. Norman Kraus

"Paul Among Jews And Gentiles" by Krister Stendahl

"The Land: Place as Gift, Promise, and Challenge in Biblical Faith" by Walter Brueggeman

"Israel In Exile: A Theological Interpretation" by Ralph W. Klein

"Holiness In Israel" by John G. Gammie (Overtures To Biblical Theology)

"The Historical Figure Of Jesus" by E. P. Sanders

"Reading Acts: A Literary and Theological Commentary on The Acts of the Apostles" by Charles H. Talbert

"Reading Luke: A Literary and Theological Commentary on the Third Gospel" by Charles H. Talbert

These are the used books I got from the library book nook today. I paid only $19.00 dollars for these books! If I was to buy them at a Christian bookstore I would have easily spent over $200.00 dollars. All these books look brand new. It was a steal!

So this hot sticky humid day crawls by. I am tired so I will close to write and read. Carol is sleeping and works tonight. She has to be at work tonight a 6 o'clock PM instead of 8 o'clock PM.

3:22 p.m. - 2016-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4