glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the glory of God

It is in the flow 7:16 PM Saturday evening. Another day has flown the coop. I left the library book nook around 9:45 AM. On the way to the library I stopped and got coffee beans. The book nook was not super busy, but people did come in the store and buy books. While at the book nook when not helping people I read "Iris Murdoch: A Life" biography by Peter J. Conradi. I brought home from the book nook one used book to add to our library titled, "The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy" a novel by Rachel Joyce.

When I got home I ate lunch and then my wife and I left for Grand Rapids to visit Baker Book House. We were going to Bake Book House because they were having customer appreciation sale and their selling books in their store at a discount. I bought these books for our library-

"The Glory of God"Edited by Christopher W. Morgan & Robert A. Peterson

"Justification and the Gospel: Understanding The Contexts And Controversies" by R. Michael Allen

"Gospel Of Glory: Major Themes In Johannine Theology" by Richard Bauckham

"The Holy Trinity In The Life Of The Church" Edited By Khaled Anatolios [Holy Cross Studies In Patristic Theology And History]

"Scripture And Tradition: What the Bible Really Says" by Edith M. Humphrey

"Dangerous Passions, Deadly Sins: Learning From The Psychology Of Ancient Monks" by Dennis Okholm

"Introducing Biblical Hermeneutics: A Comprehensive Framework for Hearing God In Scripture" by Craig G. Bartholomew

"The Enduring Authority of the Christian Scriptures" Editor D.A. Carson

Carol also bought some books and Easter cards while we were at Baker Book House. Also at Baker Book House I got talking to a young man who was buying books and he had with him his wife Beth and their three small children. I got talking to this fellow because I thought he worked at Baker's because he that look of being a book person/also he was carrying a book that I have in our library titled "We Believe in One God" Volume 1 Ancient Christian Doctrine Edited by Gerald L. Bray. I told the fellow that I had three volumes in that series Ancient Christian Doctrine/ have not bought yet the last two volumes "We Believe in the Holy Spirit" and "We Believe in One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church". I told the fellow I had been reading these volumes while reading a book by Gerald L. Bray titled. "God Has Spoken: A History Of Christian Theology" last year. The fellow was carrying another book which I was not familiar with on the formation of the Canon. So we talked and talked with his wife holding the smallest child and the other two ready to bust loose. The fellow and I could have talked I am sure for hours, but it was not the time. I gave them my calling card and told them to read my online blog/diary Crookedfingers LiveJournal. May the Lord bless!

After Baker Book House we went and bought sandwiches to take home for dinner. Before heading back to Holland we stopped at Goodwill to look at their used books. I found two used books and Carol found a bunch of used Christian books and children's books. I found these used two used books to ADD to our library-

"A Tenured Professor" a novel by John Kenneth Galbraith (I collect book by Galbraith who was a famous economic professor and author.)

"Between Heaven and Hell: The Story Of A Thousand Years Of Artistic Life In Russia" by W. Bruce Lincoln (In our library I have another book by Lincoln titled, "The Conquest Of A Continent: Siberia And The Russians".)

So now my wife and I are home recovering from our travels. I will close to look at my books and go into the evening hours. Tomorrow is a Sunday. Existence keeps zooming by!

8:09 p.m. - 2016-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8