glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what is the purpose of Time?

It is 8:15 AM Friday morning in the flow. It is cold snowy morning here in West Michigan.

I got up around 6:47 AM this morning. I got up made a pot of coffee and a pot of oatmeal. I ate my oatmeal while surfing the internet. What would the world be without the internet? What is there were no computers. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. I am still out of it spiritually. I was thinking last night I have for the last 12 days been studying the life and writings of the writer David Foster Wallace. I have been reading a ton of stuff on the writings and life of Wallace on the internet. I find it interesting that there is so much on the internet about David Foster Wallace whereas I have found for example very little on the internet on another writer I enjoyed named William T. Vollmann. Wallace and Vollmann were contemporaries. When reading about Wallace the name Vollmann comes up a lot. Bother Wallace and Vollmann are postmodernist writers (what ever that means). The point is that Wallace is far more popular than Vollmann. Sad to say Wallace killed himself and Vollmann continues to write books. But I doubt if Vollmann sells many books, whereas next month Wallace's novel "Infinite Jest" is being published in a 20th anniversary edition. It has been 20 years since "Infinite Jest" was first published and it is still in the public eye. Of course how many people have actually read "Infinite Jest" or any of Wallace's writings.

As a Christian I often ask myself is Wallace or even Vollmann worth reading/spending time with. What I mean is that we meaning myself have a certain amount of Time. As a Christian we are not to waste Time. Time is to be used wisely. Now if we have Time to read books as a Christian what books should I read. Time is not my own in a sense. God has given me Time to use for what purpose. What is the purpose of Time? What has God given me a certain amount of Time? I have always been taught that Time is given to me to seek God-to live for His glory-to cultivate a relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ. My Time on earth is short and I must prepare for an Eternal State/heaven. Time now is to be used seeking the Lord-living a normal Christian life of doing normal things like working, sleeping, eating, relaxing, etc. . . What I mean is that Time is to be used wisely not foolishly. When I am dead my Time is up here on earth-now I will be judged on how I used Time here on earth. What did I do with my Time?

I am not saying a Christian can not read "Infinite Jest", but why should she read such a big book? As I wrote the other day in my paper diary one can read "Infinite Jest" for the simple intellectual pleasure. I do not know if the novel "Infinite Jest" can give a Christian insight into the meaning of life/the purpose of Time. From all that I have read about Wallace is that he suffered from terrible depression. Was this depression due to some chemical imbalance/mental disease? Or was Wallace's depression metaphysical? Did Wallace kill himself out of despair that life/Time held no meaning?

I could write more reflections, but why? I could write a book easily or a paper/essay on David Foster Wallace/"Infinite Jest" but I am not in school. Also why spend all that intellectual energy? It would be a waste of Time, since who would profit from my digressions?

I have no plans for the day ahead of me. I gave Rudy a bath last night and will do some house cleaning today. Carol should be home this evening around 6 o'clock PM. I told her last night if it is snowing in Grand Rapids to stay at Caleb and Emily's place till the weather is safe for traveling.

Well I suppose I will close to drift with the snow.

8:47 a.m. - 2016-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8