glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

his delight is in the law of the LORD

It is in the flow 10:11 AM Tuesday morning. It is a cold gray day here by Lake Michigan. I got up this morning around 5:47 AM. I thought I would sleep in this morning, but around 5:30 AM my mind was awake so I got up to face the day. I told myself if I get sleepy during the day I can always take a nap.

When I got up this morning I made myself a cup of coffee and toasted myself a bagel. I ate my bagel messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and read for morning devotions "Psalms 1-72" Old Testament VII Reformation Commentary On Scripture on Psalm 23. I decided since I was alone and had plenty of time to make another video for my YouTube channel on why as a Christian I read Christian books in the mornings. So I made a video and downloaded it into YouTube. I am thinking of making another video soon on Reformed theology, how I got into reading books on Reformed theology. I do not read Reformed theology these days, but in the Past I read Reformed theology/Calvinistic theology ALL the time. I even taught Reformed Theology when we were members years ago at a small independent Dutch Reformed church. I studied Reformed theology when I was a student at Reformed Bible College and Reformed Theological Seminary. I have a vast theological library. Now I am mainly a student of the Holy Bible. I like reading books like the ones on my study desk presently-Christian Spirituality. I love the Word of God. "Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night" Psalm 1:1,2.

Carol and I decided for her to call me each evening while she is gone. So this evening I expect a phone call from my wife lover.

Last night I mainly listened to music, messed with our main computer, and read, "Iris Murdoch: A Life" biography by Peter J. Conradi. I went to bed around 11 o'clock PM. Now it is another day. Outside it is cold and gray. It is suppose to rain today.

Well I thought since I got time and energy I would quote from one of my favorite devotional books, one I mentioned earlier in my video titled, "The Poor Man's Morning And Evening Portions" by Robert Hawker.

February 2—Morning—Luke 7:44

"Seest thou this woman?"—Luke vii. 44.

My soul, look at this woman at the feet of Jesus; for thy Jesus bids thee
look, and gather instruction from the view, as well as the pharisee. Behold
how she wept, how she washed the feet of Jesus, and anointed them with
ointment. These were sweet tokens of her love and adoration. But were these
the causes for which she obtained forgivings? Oh, no. Read what the Lord
said to her: "Thy faith hath saved thee." Learn, then, my, soul, in what
salvation lies. Love may bring ointment to Jesus. Sorrow for sin, when grace
is in the heart, will cause tears to fall. But faith brings nothing, for it hath
nothing: it casts itself wholly upon Jesus. Amidst all its guilt, and fears, and
tears, it is Jesus only to whom faith looks; it is Jesus upon whom alone it
depends. It hath nothing to do with self; neither our own feelings, nor the
exercise of our graces. These are blessed evidences of the work of the Lord
upon the heart; but they are not, salvation. It is Jesus, all precious, all glorious,
all suitable Jesus! He is the One blessed object of faith's joy and hope, and
pursuit and desire. And, depend upon it, thy God and Father in Christ Jesus, is
more pleased, more honoured, by this simple act of faith upon Jesus glorious
person and righteousness, than by all the tears in the world; when those tears
lead us to place a stress upon the effects of faith, instead of hanging wholly
upon the cause, in the glorious object, Jesus. Pause, my soul, over this nice
but proper distinction; and this will be to find comfort always in Jesus, "Seest
thou this woman?"

http://grace-ebooks.com/library/Robert%20Hawker/RH_Poor%20Man's%20Morning%20and%20Evening.pdf

10:38 a.m. - 2016-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8