glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we all require the heat of divine grace

It is in the death flow 11:17 AM Sunday morning. It is another cold winter day here by Lake Michigan. We are predicted this afternoon to get one to two inches of snow. Plain ugly winter weather.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. When I got up my wife was cooking sweet potatoes in the kitchen. She left this morning around 7:35 AM to work from 8 o'clock AM to 4 o'clock PM.

I have spent the morning thus far writing in my diaries and reading these books for devotions-

Holy Bible

"Holy Wisdom" by Father Baker

"Spirituality Old & New: Recovering Authentic Spiritual Life" by Donald G. Bloesch

"Moral Reflections on the Book of Job" Volume 1 Preface and Books 1-5 by Gregory the Great Translated by Brian Kerns, OCSO

"The Pastor As Public Theologian: Reclaiming a Lost Vision" by Vanhoozer & Strachan

"Roads To Zion Mourn" by Hugh Of Balma this treatise is found in this volume "Carthusian Spirituality" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Reading To Live: The Evolving Practice Of Lectio Divina" by Raymond Studzinski, OSB

"Lectio Divina: The Medieval Experience of Reading" by Duncan Robertson

"Psalms 1-50" Old Testament VII Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture

I have no plans for the afternoon hours. I will read my books, write in my diary, and sit in silence.

Last night I basically read my books and watched a movie. I went to bed late and now here I sit. There is no way out.

"[13] We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak;
[14] Knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you.
[15] For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of God.
[16] For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.
[17] For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;
[18] While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal." 2 Corinth. 4:13-18

11:31 a.m. - 2016-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8