glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we are always in the process of becoming

It is in the flow of existence here by Lake Michigan 1:11 PM Thursday afternoon. Thus far I have had an average day.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. Once again weird disturbing dreams drove me out of my warm cozy bed. I got up made myself a small pot of oatmeal (one cup of oats and half a cup of water). I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer. After breakfast and messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. Today I hit One Thousand pages in my 2015 Diary. I am right on schedule this year. I usually write a thousand pages a year. I use to write more when I copied off what I wrote here and put it with my regular written pages. I stopped doing that a couple of years ago because I realized I tend to write the same things year after year. I am sowing the seed of the Gospel of God.

I read for the devotions this morning from a book titled, "Reformation Readings of Paul: Explorations in History and Exegesis" Edited By Michael Allen & Jonathan A. Linebaugh. Carol got home from work around 9 o'clock AM. I was making a fresh pot of coffee when she got home. A friend of Carol's stopped by this morning to drop off Christ Mass goodies and to have a cup of coffee. Carol has been friends with this woman before we were married/they went to Nursing School together.

After Carol went to bed I left to visit thrift stores in search of Used Books to ADD to our library. I found these used books this morning-

"Pilgrim's Progress" by John Bunyan (I collect editions of this Puritan spiritual classic.)

"Gulliver's Travels" by Jonathan Swift (Introduction by Jacques Barzun/Illustrations by Warren Chappell) an Oxford University Press hardback edition with a nice slipcover/bookcover

"The Ecological Indian: Myth and History" by Shepard Krech III

"Obsessive Genius: The Inner World of Marie Currie" biography by Barbara Goldsmith (I have another book by Goldsmith in our library titled, "Other Powers: The Age of Suffrage, Spiritualism, and the Scandalous Victoria Woodhull".)

"Chronicle Of A Death Foretold" novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

"The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford" New Introduction by Ian Hamilton

"The Algiers Motel Incident" Civil Rights history by John Hersey

"Emperor Of The Air: Stories" by Ethan Canin

"The Sketch Book Of Geoffrey Crayton, Gent." novel by Washington Irving

"Freddy And Fredericka" a novel by Mark Helprin

"What Is What: The Autobiography Of Valentino Achak Deng" a novel by Dave Eggers

"Heat and Other Stories" by Joyce Carol Oates

"Aloft" a novel by Chang-rae Lee

"The Ten-Year Nap" a novel by Meg Woltzer

"Swallowdale" novel by Arthur Ransome

"Walden And Civil Disobedience" by Henry David Thoreau (I collect editions of this American classic.)

"A Partisan's Daughter" a novel by Louis De Bernieres

"Swann's Way" a novel by Marcel Proust (I collect different editions of this novel-this edition is a Penguin Deluxe Classic edition.)

"A William Maxwell Portrait: Memories and Appreciations" Edited and Introduced by Charles Baxter, Michael Collier, and Edward Hirsch

"What If: The World's Foremost Military Historians Imagine What Might Have Been" essays by Stephen E. Ambrose, John Keegan, David McCullough, James M. McPherson Edited by Robert Cowley

I was going to visit one more thrift store but I was hungry so I came home to drift through the rest of the day. Not much else to report. Last night I basically read the novel "The Good Apprentice" by Iris Murdoch late into the night.

I will close to write in my diary and read my books. Existence keeps speeding by.

music: Oneohtrix Point Never 'Garden Of Delete'

1:49 p.m. - 2015-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4