glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the inner life

It is in the flow of Time 9:28 PM Monday night. I had a normal day thus far. Right now I can not be sure how this day will end.

This evening I have been trying to finish reading the novel "Amy and Isabelle" by Elizabeth Strout so I can read something else. I could read these novels next if I get in the right mood-

"The Human Stain" a novel by Philip Roth

"The Orphan Master's Son" a novel by Adam Johnson

"The Wallcreeper" a novel by Nell Zink

Earlier this evening I read for awhile the novel "City On Fire" by Garth Risk Hallberg. I am still finding this novel flat.

I should go to bed early tonight since I have not been sleeping soundly lately. Carol is at work the next three nights so I sleep alone. I sometimes sleep sounder when I sleep alone. Carol and I have been sleeping together going on 37 years. Next month my wife will be 63 years old. Life is speeding by on us. I wonder how long we will be together here on earth?

This evening besides reading my books I mopped the kitchen floors, the main bathroom floors and the lower level floors. I am to be honest not into house cleaning. I do not mine a layer dust covering everything in our cell. I just do not like clutter or anything kind of chaos. I like dust to be in a system of order.

I got out this afternoon a devotional book titled, "From The Library of A. W. Tozer: Selections From Writers Who Influenced His Spiritual Journey" Complied By James Stuart Bell. I do not know why I got out this devotional book since I rarely used devotional books any more for devotions.

I use to collect devotional books. What do you read for devotions beside God's Word the Holy Bible.

I usually read a ton of Christian literature and then I come to a point where I am too full to receive any more and then for weeks I go into a slump and just wander through the days hardly reading any serious Christian literature. It is during these lulls that I read St. John of the Cross or just sit in silence waiting to feel alive inside once again-intellectual and spiritually moving/curious.

It is not easy keeping myself zealous for divine realities. I look to the Holy Spirit to quicken me inside/revive me.

Well I suppose I will close to wait it out. It will soon be over.

music: Bell Witch 'Four Phantoms'

9:51 p.m. - 2015-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4