glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

have no confidence in the flesh

It is in the flow of this day 5:12 PM Sunday evening. I am down in the lower level typing on my lap top. I just took my daily hot shower. I thank the Lord for hot water and clean clothes. I can not think of time when I did not have hot water and clean clothes. Even when I was homeless I always had access to hot water and clean clothes. As I look over my life in my old age I can see the hand of God on my life. Sometimes I wonder if I have been a Christian all my life. I do remember as a boy going to church and going down the aisle and giving my life to Jesus. There were years I struggled with assurance of salvation, but I think I struggled because I thought something was wrong with me because I was not like other Christians that we went to church with. Now I have come to see there are all kinds of Christians. There are as many kinds of Christians as the stars in the night sky. Also we meaning Christians are saved by the blood of Jesus Christ; "And you, being dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He made alive together with Him, having forgiven you all trespasses" Colossians 2:13.

I took a two hour nap this afternoon so I could experience music tonight with my wife.

I did read while watching professional football this afternoon from a book titled, "Other Colors: Essays And A Story" by Orhan Pamuk.

I came down here to the lower level before taking a nap to look for one of my favorite 17th century Puritan books titled, "The Harmony Of The Divine Attributes In The Contrivance And Accomplishment Of Man's Redemption" by William Bates. I read this treatise by William Bates many many years ago when I was on staff at the Richmond Rescue Mission, Richmond Calif. Back then I read it in a 17th century leather bound edition at a seminary in Berkeley, California. Back in 1985 Sprinkle Publishers published it in a small hardback. I love this little treatise by Bates. I was very excited when in 1990 Sprinkle published THE COMPLETE WORKS OF WILLIAM BATES four volumes.

Volume 1 Contents: Memoir, The Existence Of God, Immorality Of The Soul, Divinity Of Religion, The Harmony Of The Divine Attributes

Volume 2 Contents: The Forgiveness Of Sin, The Sure Trial Of Uprightness, The Duty Of Resignation, The Danger Of Prosperity, Spiritual Perfection

Volume 3 Contents: The Everlasting Rest Of The Saints, Divine Meditation, The Fear Of God, The Four Last Things

Volume 4 Contents: Miscellaneous Sermons, Funeral Sermons, Scripture Index, General Index

What I have found over the years as a Christian is that there are very few Christians in the world who love good biblical gospel preaching. What prevented me from being a gospel minister was my love for solid biblical preaching. I know too much as a Christian. Because of my love for divine Truth/biblical spirituality I am in a constant state of exile. And I am at peace with that reality, because God is sovereign. I am living the Christian life as the world goes the way of destruction. "Beware of dogs, beware of evil workers, beware of the mutilation! For we are the circumcision, who worship God in the Spirit, rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh" Phil. 3:2.

I can hear my wife upstairs getting ready to go to Covenant PCA. Earlier I also made a video of some of our book collection. I plan to make another video for my YouTube channel on Church History/books one can read on the history of the Christian Church/the holy Universal Church/The Body of Christ; "and to make all see what is the fellowship of the mystery, which from the beginning of the ages has been hidden in God who created all things through Jesus Christ; to the intent that now the manifold wisdom of God might be made known by the church to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places, according to the eternal purpose which He accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord" Ephesians 3:9-11.

6:00 p.m. - 2015-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4