glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christ centered preaching

It is in the flow of divine providence 3:10 PM Friday afternoon. I am down in the lower level writing on one of my lap top computers. It is cold down here so I turned on a space heater that is now blowing warm air on me. Our lower level never got insulated, so it gets cold down here during the cold months of the year.

I have had thus far a typical day. I got up with my wife around 6 o'clock AM this morning. I ate breakfast and messed with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my diary Carol and I went grocery shopping. We were home from food gathering around 10:15 AM. We put away the supplies and I ate some food. After eating food I read my books and wrote some more in my paper diary.

Carol left around 11 o'clock AM to visit a friend who is dying of cancer in Grand Rapids. I read till 1 o'clock PM and then took a nap. When I got up from my nap Carol arrived home from Grand Rapids. I have been reading from these books today when awake-

"Virtue and the Voice of God: Toward Theology As Wisdom" by Daniel J. Treier (I have next to me two other books by Daniel J. Treier, "Trinitarian Theology for the Church: Scripture, Community, Worship" Edited by Daniel J. Treier & David Lauber and "Introducing Theological Interpretation Of Scripture: Recovering a Christian Practice".)

"City On Fire" a novel by Garth Risk Hallberg

I usually close down by late afternoon. I like to rest my brain after reading books and writing till 3 o'clock PM. If I do write after 3 o'clock PM it is usually in my online diaries. I tend to write the same stuff here as what I write in my personal diary. My life is an open book. "You are our epistle written in our hearts, known and read by all men; clearly you are an epistle of Christ, ministered by us, written not with ink but by the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of flesh, that is, of the heart" 2 Corinth. 3:2,3.

Yesterday I mainly read, "The Reality Of God And Historical Method: Apocalyptic Theology In Conversation With N. T. Wright" by Samuel V. Adams and the novel "City On Fire" by Hallberg.

While down here in the lower level this afternoon I dug out an old book titled, "An Earnest Ministry The Want Of The Times" by John Angell James published in 1848. This book is one of my favorite books on Gospel preaching. I plan to read from this old book in one of my upcoming videos. We need in our churches earnest preaching of the Gospel/Experimental Preaching/Christ centered preaching.

Well I suppose I will close to drift. Tomorrow is a Saturday and once again I volunteer at the Herrick District Public Library Used Books Store from 10 AM till 1 PM. I will come home after volunteering at the library book nook and watch college football. Existence keeps zooming by!

3:39 p.m. - 2015-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4