glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the high calling of God in Christ Jesus

It is in the cold flow of existence 3:05 PM Wednesday afternoon. It is a cold rainy gray day here in West Michigan. I have had a quiet day thus far wandering the house, reading my books and writing in my paper diary. I have put away my diary for day since it is past 3 o'clock PM. I usually start shutting down around this time of day.

I have been reading this afternoon a book I received in the mail today titled, "The Reality On God And Historical Method: Apocalyptic Theology In Conversation With N. T. Wright" by Samuel V. Adams. I also received in the mail another book I had ordered a long time ago titled, "Neither Jew Nor Greek: A Contested Identity" Volume 3 Christianity In The Making by James D. G. Dunn.

This morning I read for devotions a Puritan work titled, "Instructions About Heartwork" by Richard Alleine (1611-1691). I realized many years ago I could never live the spiritual life of a 17th century English Puritan minister. I seek to follow the Lord Jesus Christ. I want to be conformed to the image of Christ. I seek to live out the Christian life set forth in the New Testament/Pauline Epistles.

When reading for example the book "Instructions About Heartwork" by Richard Alleine, read the Epistle to the Romans written by the Apostle Paul. Also read this book titled, "Cruciformity: Paul's Narrative Spirituality of the Cross" by Michael J. Gorman. In the end we have to work out our salvation with fear and trembling.

Not much else to report this afternoon. It is now raining cats and dogs outside. Scary weather!

"[8] Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,
[9] And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:
[10] That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;
[11] If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.
[12] Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.
[13] Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
[14] I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus." Phil. 3:8-14

3:23 p.m. - 2015-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4