glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Logos

It is in the flow of existence 8:30 AM Monday morning. Outside this morning it is cloudy with some sunlight peeking through the cloud cover.

I have been up since 6:25 AM this morning. When I got up my wife was cooking a big turkey dinner. Carol bought a big turkey because it was on sale and we are eating some of it this afternoon (an early Thanks Giving Feast). We invited Brother Tim over this afternoon to help us eat the turkey. So I got up messed with our main computer and then made oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and have been reading my Reformation Commentary on Psalms 1-72. I am reading this commentary on Psalm 6.

Last night we watched professional football and went to bed around 10:30 PM.

music Jon Hopkins 'Immunity'

I got out this morning a commentary on the Epistle to the Hebrews by A. W. Pink. I mentioned this commentary in one of my recent videos. Several years ago I sold most of my books by A. W. Pink but I kept a few because they were my favorite (I wish now I had not sold any of my Pink books, but what was done can't be undone, so suck it up. Be brave and be thankful for what books you do have.) I kept the commentary on Hebrews by Pink because it was the book that lead me to reading the 17th century English Puritans. After reading Pink on Hebrews I started buying all of Pink's books and they were a blessing during the early days of my theological understanding of biblical doctrine.

In my early days of embracing the Doctrines of Grace/Calvinism/Reformed Faith the writers I read were men like C. H. Spurgeon. Dr. Lloyd-Jones, B. B. Warfield, Thomas Boston, John Murray and a host of others. Now I read all over the Christian spiritual map. For some reason I see Christian Truth to be deep as the ocean and high as the sky above. As a Christian I can never assume I have come to an exhaustive knowledge of biblical truth/doctrine. I have reach the state of unknowing/contemplative silence before the Lamb of God the Lord Jesus Christ The Logos. "For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ. No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him" John 1:17,18.

Carol goes back to work tonight. Existence keeps flowing by faster than light.

Yesterday Carol and I Grandma and Grandpa had a nice time with our oldest son Caleb, his wife Emily and their baby daughter Josephine Joy. After lunch we all took a walk at Outdoor Discovery Center. Caleb, Emily, and Josie left around 4:40 PM yesterday. Carol went to church and when she got home we watched professional football.

I read last night read some of the novel, "The Good Apprentice" by Iris Murdoch. I also read yesterday the Puritan volume "Instructions About Heartwork" by Richard Alleine.

Well I will close to read my Bible and go through the day. There is no way of escape.

9:01 a.m. - 2015-11-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4