glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you are yet within the reach of the blood of Christ

It is in the flow of salvation history 9:26 AM Sunday morning. Outside this morning it is sunny and breezy. Carol left this morning to walk our dog at a local city park. I did not feel like going out this morning into the world. I have been reading for morning worship a book titled, "Instructions About Heartwork" by Richard Alleine. It is a blessing to sit under the preaching of the glorious gospel of God. It is depressing for me to realize that I do not know any where here where I live one can hear preached the biblical gospel. I am thankful I have in our library books that I can read that set forth the biblical gospel. I am not even implying that the 17th century English Puritans preached the biblical gospel. But if I was going to chose someone who tried to preach the biblical gospel you can read the Puritans-but read with discernment. As I have written many times over the years the best thing to do is to read the Bible and pray for the Holy Spirit to be enlightened/spiritual illumination. Also read the writings of men like Richard Alleine and modern evangelical biblical scholars like G.K. Beale (his book "Hidden But Now Revealed: A Biblical Theology of Mystery").

I got up this morning around 7:35 AM. My wife was already up reading through the Sunday morning newspapers. I made for us a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. A person could live on oatmeal, water, and apples.

I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and read, "Instructions About Heartwork". I am still reading in the mornings for devotions these books.

Bible (I have near me eight Bibles as I type these words.)

"The Love of God: A Canonical Model" by John C. Peckham

"Hidden But Now Revealed: A Biblical Theology of Mystery" by G. K. Beale & Benjamin L. Gladd

"From Creation to New Creation: Biblical Theology and Exegesis" Editors Daniel M. Gurtner & Benjamin L. Gladd

"Psalm 1-72" Old Testament VII [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Herman J. Selderhuis

I mentioned I have near our main computer eight Bibles-here is a list of the Bibles near me as I write these words-I love the Holy Scriptures!

Holy Bible (King James Version)

Holy Bible (New King James Version)

Holy Bible (Large Print King James Version-this Bible I have had going on 40 years-plain text No study notes)

Holy Bible (New International Version-Large Print)

The New International Study Bible

New Geneva Study Bible-New King James Version (this is a Study Bible for evangelical Calvinist/mildly Reformed)

The MacArthur Study Bible (English Standard Version)

Holy Bible (King James Version-this Bible belonged to Carol's parents-they read always read this Bible at meals around the table-family Bible reading)

I also have Cruden's Complete Concordance near me. Also these books near me-

Psalter Hymnal (We always went to churches where the Psalms were sung)

"Liturgies Of The Western Church" Selected And Introduced By Bard Thompson

"Doctrinal Standards, Liturgy, and Church Order" Netherlands Reformed Congregations (We went to churches for a number of years where the Belgic Confession of Faith, The Heidelberg Catechism, and The Canons of Dort were preached/taught/explained. We also went to churches where the Westminster Standards were preached/taught/explained)

"The Shorter Catechism with Scripture Proofs"
Q1: What is the chief end of man?
A: Man's chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy him for ever

So the morning crawls by-my wife just left for Covenant PCA-this church holds to the Westminster Standards/these confessions were composed by the 17th century English Puritans.

I suppose I will close-late this morning our oldest son Caleb, Emily his wife and Josie are coming over for family time. We might watch professional football this afternoon. Yesterday we watched college football all day.

10:06 a.m. - 2015-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4