glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the mystery of Christ

It is in the flow of the Plan of God 9:14 AM Tuesday morning Eastern Standard Time. "by which when you read, you may understand my knowledge in the mystery of Christ), which in other ages was not made known to the sons of men, as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to His holy apostles and prophets: that the Gentiles should be fellow heirs, of the same body, and partakers of His promise in Christ through the gospel" Ephesians 3:4-6 (I recently read a book titled, "Hidden But Now Revealed: A Biblical Theology of Mystery" by G. K. Beale & Benjamin L. Gladd "After discussing Christ's cosmic rule and the subsequent unity of all things, Paul will continue the theme of unity in Ephesians 2-3. He specifies that one of the most significant ways in which Christ has begun to restore the fragmented cosmos is the unification of formerly alienated and hostile people groups. Just as "all things" are united in Christ, so Jews and Gentiles are joined together in him. We therefore ought to view the revealed mystery in Ephesians 3 as deeply rooted in, and an unpacking of, the cosmic mystery in Ephesians 1. In Ephesians 3, the apostle articulates how the mystery involves Gentiles participating in the new covenant community and become equal members along with believing Jews in that new community-by faith in Christ. . ." pg. 159)

My wife and I got up around 7 o'clock AM this morning. I made for us oatmeal for breakfast and coffee. I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer and then I wrote in my paper diary. I read for morning worship from these books-

Bible "Till I come, give attention to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine" 1 Tim. 4:13

"Psalms 1-72" Old Testament VII Reformation Commentary On Scripture

"Commentary On The Psalms" 2 volumes in 1 by J. J. Stewart Perowne

"Instructions about Heartwork: What is to be done on God's part and ours for the cure and keeping of the heart, that we may live in the exercise and growth of grace here, and have a comfortable assurance of glory to eternity" by Richard Alleine (1611-1691)

"Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma & Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

I am now in the lower level of our home writing on my lap top. I looked at this book last night, "Temptation And Sin" Volume 6 The Works of John Owen. I looked at John Owen's treatise in this volume, A PRACTICAL EXPOSITION UPON PSALM CXXX.; THE NATURE OF THE FORGIVENESS OF SIN IS DECLARED; THE TRUTH AND REALITY OF IT ASSERTED; AND THE CASE OF A SOUL DISTRESSED WITH THE GUILT OF SIN, AND BELIEVED BY A DISCOVERY OF FORGIVENESS WITH GOD, IS AT LARGE DISCOURSED. I read this discourse/exposition on Psalm 130 by John Owen 37 years ago and was a great blessing in my life at the time "But there is forgiveness with You, that You may be feared" Ps. 130:4.

I do not know what I will do the rest of the day. Carol goes back to work tonight. She plans to leave soon to go shopping for winter boots for our granddaughter Josie Joy. I will read my books and seek the Lord.

Last night we watched television and Carol went to bed early. I stayed up and watched TV and then read late into the night. Now it is another day to seek the Lord.

I will close to read my books. Existence keeps speeding by.

9:52 a.m. - 2015-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4