glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the American novel is pre-eminently a novel of terror

It is here where we live in West Michigan 10:08 AM Friday morning. Outside this morning it is damp and gray. We are predicted by the weather authorities to have sunshine this weekend. I love the Light.

Right now I am still sick from a bad cold. I slept terribly last night. Lately I have not getting much sleep due to being sick and other things. I am thankful I do not have to go to a job being sick. When I was working I often worked sick as a dog. I did not want to use my vacation time so I worked sick. When I got laid off from my job I had achieved three weeks of paid time. But you did not get paid if you were sick. If you called in sick you could use your vacation time so as to get a full paycheck on your pay day. So here I sit feeling sick talking to myself down in the lower level. Carol is upstairs using our main computer right now.

Carol and I got up around 5:55 AM this morning. We went grocery shopping early this morning. On the way home we stopped at a local church for their rummage sale. I wanted to see if they were selling any used books at this giant rummage sale. I found two used books both which I had already had in our library, but one was a hardback edition whereas the one I had was an old paperback.

"A Frolic Of His Own" a novel by William Gaddis (I now have three editions of this novel.)

"Dangerous Pilgrimages: Transatlantic Mythologies and the Novel" by Malcolm Bradbury (I have already this book in paperback but this edition is a hardback edition in mint condition with a cover.)

So the morning goes by. I have no plans for the day ahead of me. I will read my books and drift through the day.

I have been mainly reading these two books lately-

"Exiled in Paris: Richard Wright, James Baldwin, Samuel Beckett, and Others on the Left Bank" by James Campbell

"Love and Death in the American Novel" by Leslie A. Fielder

I will close to feel sick.

10:27 a.m. - 2015-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4