glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a phone call from a God lover

It is 9:36 PM Friday evening in the death flow. I was not going to write any more tonight, but this evening I got unexpected phone call from a someone I have known by name for years first on JournalSpace and now on Facebook. Years ago I wrote in a blog site called JournalSpace, but this blog site was destroyed by some disgruntled fired employee. Some of the people in JournalSpace are now friends on Facebook. One of them is a Christian fellow named Steve. Well to my surprise Steve called this evening to ask me some questions about how I live a Christian life outside the visible Church/don't I get lonely? So Steve and I talked for about an hour. It was good to talk to Steve. I think a long time ago Steve called me and we talked for awhile about spiritual things.

I tend repeat myself when I explain my spiritual life so I won't repeat myself here. It all has been said here in LiveJournal many times over the years. In summary my Christian life is a mystery to me. My Christian life is weird. I long for a Christian community of God lovers.

There was thing I did not day to brother Steve that I should have said. And that is we meaning all Christians fail. We meaning Christians fail each other. I have failed to love other Christians and they have failed to love me. There is no one to blame. We are all saved by grace and need to forgive each other our failings and seek to love one another as the world heads for destruction.

I am no longer afraid to acknowledge I am sick and need healing.

Also I do not think I mentioned to brother Steve that I do not think the present structure of a typical American evangelical church organization fosters spiritual intimacy with other God lovers. Also I think being an American makes it difficult to live in community. Americans are focused on independence/self-centered not focused on community life. We live in isolated family groups or social groups like bowling teams. Americans are not wired for communities centered around a burning love for the Lord Jesus Christ.

I enjoyed talking to Steve even though I had no answers for his questions. It is lonely being a Christian in this messed up world/in American evangelicalism. All we can do is cry out to the Lord for grace to live for Him in this broken world.

music: Albert Hammond, Jr. 'Como Te Llama?'

10:03 p.m. - 2015-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8