glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

for I am not ashamed of the Gospel

It is the flow of time Eastern Standard Time 9:49 AM Thursday morning. Outside it is gray and rainy.

I got up this morning around 7:20 AM. When I got up I made myself a pot of coffee and a small pot of oatmeal. Next I messed with our main computer.

After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my paper diary I read from a book titled, "Galatians And Christian Theology: Justification, the Gospel, and Ethics in Paul's Letter" Edited By Mark W. Elliott, Scott J. Hafemann, N.T. Wright and John Frederick. My wife came home from and work as I was reading Pauline Theology.

Not much else to report about my morning. I have nothing to do today to save the world from certain destruction.

Last night I watched some television and read from a book titled, "An Artificial Wilderness: Essays On Twentieth Century Literature" by Sven Birkerts.

Yesterday I received from UPS a book I ordered titled, "American Smoke: Journeys To The End Of The Light" memoir by Iain Sinclair.

I watched this morning another video in YouTube by the fellow Conrad talking about books. After watching several of Conrad's videos Just a Dust Jacket I have been wondering if he just reads fiction. I just don't read fiction as a book reader. To be honest for years most of my reading was in the area of 17th century English Puritan theology/spirituality and classical Reformed Theology. I really have not read a lot of fiction over my 45 years as being a reader of books. I have read all over the map as a book lover. I like reading biographies, memoirs, literary studies, History, Christian Spirituality, travel books, Poetry on and on it goes. To me to be well read means to read all kinds of literature.

It always bothers me when I come across people who read only one kind of literature. We should expand our reading to cover many types of books. Well I could go on and on. In the end what is important is to read. As a Christian it is important to read the Bible daily. I seek to have the teachings of God's Word enable me to interpret what I read. All of us approach books with a certain understanding of the world/what is Real. I suppose I would say I read mainly to learn new things and not to be entertained. I am a learner. I want to expand my understanding of the world/Nature/humanity/the Bible etc. . .

I will close to drift through the day.

10:14 a.m. - 2015-07-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8