glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

false spirituality

It is here in West Michigan 8:08 AM Tuesday morning. Outside this morning it is gray and it is raining. We turned off the central air and opened the window. Clean air is a blessing. I hate to wake up to smoke coming from burning buildings.

Carol left this morning to have breakfast with a girlfriend. I made myself oatmeal for breakfast. I am still losing weight. I noticed yesterday during my long hike I never felt tired or weak. I should still get into riding the bike I recently bought. When I was out hiking I came across one man older than me riding his mountain bike and another older fellow running through the fields.

I got up this morning around 7:05 AM. I have nothing to do super important. I have no where I have to be today. I can just drift in contemplative silence all day. I can lose myself inside my mind today if I so chose.

Last night I finally finished reading the novel "The Odd Woman" by Gail Godwin. I stayed up late and read till I finished this excellent novel by Godwin. I went to bed around 11:45 PM last night. My wife had already gone to bed and was asleep when I went to bed. I love my wife dearly.

I was thinking that some people might wonder why I hold so tightly to the absolute authority of God's Word the Bible. You see for me the Bible is living and enables me to interpret Reality. The Bible is eternal Truth and I can trust it to guide me through life. To me the Bible is a source of holy wisdom. Before the Lord saved me I did not believe in anything. Before I was a Christian I just lived to satisfy my fleshly lusts. My belly was my god. Because there was nothing I was in a state of despair because there was nothing/all was meaningless.

As a Christian life has meaning because the Bible tells me God has a plan to save the cosmos and me. God loved me so much He sent His Son the Lord Jesus Christ to die for me and give me eternal life/eternal meaning/eternal purpose.

If I was to reject the Bible's teaching on ethics/homosexuality I would have to reject the Bible/reject God/reject the love of God revealed in the life,death,resurrection and ascension of the Lord Jesus Christ. Because I love God for all that He has done for me I can not turn my back on Him and reject His Word the Bible.

To me I can not see a person claiming being a Christian not holding to the authority of God's Word the Bible. There is a lot of false spirituality in the world and the visible Church. The Bible warns me that there will be among the saints those who claim to be Christians, but are in reality deceived by the evil one/false brethren.

I have come across people who say and do all kinds of spiritual things (?) but never mention the Lord Jesus Christ, never quote the Bible, never mention being regenerated/the new birth, never mention repentance, never mention anything that resembles biblical Christian spirituality/to me these people are not saved and going to heaven. To me heaven is being with the Lord Jesus Christ and His people/elect angels forever in the New Creation. These so-called spiritual people never speak of having a heavenly hope/being with Christ Jesus in glory.

I am a Christian and will by God's grace never reject the teachings of the Bible.

8:31 a.m. - 2015-07-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8