glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christ alone

It is in the flow of eternal life 9:06 AM Friday Eastern Standard Time. A cloudy day outside this morning. Inside I feel hung over. I have been thinking of going down into the lower level and laying down in the cool darkness till I feel a hundred percent inside. But instead I find myself writing here hoping it all will make sense in the end.

My wife has gone to bed for the day after working through the night as a professional nurse at a local hospital.

I have nothing to do today accept prepare for the end.

I got woke up this morning around 6:05 AM by Rudy scratching at his cage door wanting to get out so he could go outside and go to the bathroom. So I got up and let Rudy outside so he could do his thing. I went back to bed but my mind was active so I got up and messed with our main computer. After awhile I wrote in my paper diary and then went down in the lower level to lay down. I got up around 7 o'clock AM and warmed up coffee made last night.

I read this morning some poems from a book I got out last night titled, "Contemporary American Poetry" Selected And Introduced By Donald Hall.

I have been thinking this morning about some of the things I wrote yesterday about the nature of true religion (biblical Christianity). It is important to realize being a Christian is not knowing first of all a body of teachings (a system of doctrine), but it is a living ongoing relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ the Son of God. It is through the Son of God that we have a relationship with God the Father. This present daily ongoing relationship with God the Father and God the Son is made possible by the present work of God the Holy Spirit. Christianity is having a intimate felt relationship with the Persons of the Godhead. Man/Woman was created to know and love God. That relationship was disrupted by sin and then restored by the work of Christ. A lot more could be written about the message of the Bible on salvation, but that would take pages. We should beware of making Christianity into a system of esoteric teachings. Salvation comes by looking to the Lord Jesus Christ alone, not by learning a body of teachings or practicing some form of ascetic routine like mediation/sitting in silence. We are saved by Christ alone and not by works. Now after we come to know the Lord there is a way we must follow in order to deepen our relationship with the Lord like prayer, fasting, mediation, reading the Bible, worship, the fellowship of the saints. sacraments etc. . .

Well I could write more, but I have written about these things for years here in LJ. I always tell people read the Bible and pray for the Holy Spirit to teach you. Understanding the Bible is first of all not an intellectual exercise, but we come to the Bible looking to the Holy Spirit to illuminate our minds/hearts. ("And He opened their understanding, that they might comprehend the Scriptures" Luke 24:45)

I suppose I will close to drift. I might go someplace this morning. Next Friday we will be in the month of July.

"For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ" 2 Corinth. 4:6

9:41 a.m. - 2015-06-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8