glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a tradition of proletarian suspicion and hostility towards intellectuals

It is a sunny Thursday morning here by Lake Michigan. I think it might rain sometime today, but I am not sure. I know we are suppose to get thunder showers next week. We need the rain to cause all the tulips to bloom for Tulip Time. Yesterday morning when Carol and I went downtown for breakfast I did see some tulips in bloom. We have tulips starting to bloom around our house presently. Years ago we had all kinds of flowers blooming around our house, but over the years due to neglect most of them have cease to exist. I am not in gardening or yard work. I am still debating whether I want to plant wild flowers this year in my wildflower patch of ground. Last year I took tons of pictures of my wild flowers and it got kind of over done.

Carol is out walking Rudy right now. When she gets back from her walk she is going to go visit her older brother Dave and his wife Gail. Dave and Gail spend the winter months in Florida, but are now back here for the rest of the year.

I have been sitting in my main study this morning reading the Bible and these books-

"Luke" New Testament III [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Beth Kreitzer

"Paul's Divine Christology" by Chris Tilling

"The School of Christ" by Pere Jean Nicolas Grou, S.J. (Translated by Mrs. Rodolph Stawell)

I should go ride my bike someplace before it rains.

Last night I basically read till Midnight a used book I bought yesterday titled, "Radical Visions & American Dreams: Culture and Social Thought in the Depression Years" by Richard H. Pells.

I do not know what I will read throughout the day. The day will go by. I have been thinking that one can America live a comfortable life if they are willing to educate themselves and work hard. Both my wife and I come from poverty and we now live a comfortable life. I think some people use race or poverty to make an excuse for doing nothing/I do believe everyone even those in ghettos can get an education and a job in America. In some ways Blacks and other races have more opportunities to get a good education and a job than White people.

I will close to drift through the day.

music: Bell Witch 'Four Phantom's'

10:17 a.m. - 2015-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4