glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

books

It is 8:57 PM Tuesday night. Carol and I are home after driving over to Grand Rapids with Joe and Hannah. We visited with our other son and his wife & baby Josie along with our son Josiah and his wife Hannah. We sat around and talked. We ate food and then talked some more. Carol and I left before it got dark because I do not like to be driving someplace when it is night outside. I get anxious driving in a car when I can't see what is around me. So we are home recovering from another day. Carol only slept three hours today, so she is wasted. I am wasted from all the activity and talking this week. Don't get me wrong I enjoy doing stuff with our sons and their wives. We love our granddaughters, but my life is pretty slow when no one is around here except Carol and our dog Rudy. I live a quiet life of being off in my mind thinking about stuff like Christian living in the Last Days. "Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness, looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat? Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness" Second Peter 3:11-13.

I wanted to list the books next to me right now that I looked at to, by day. I do this exercise to show I take being a Christian a serious matter. I have read and thought long and hard on what it means to be a Bible believing Christian/disciple of the Lord Jesus Christ. "But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world. For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision availeth any thing, nor uncircumcision, but a new creature" Galatians 6:14,15.

books by my desk tonight
1. "Worshiping With The Church Fathers" by Christopher A. Hall
2. "The First Thousand Years: A Global History Of Christianity" by Robert Louis Wilken
3. "Language For God In Patristic Tradition: Wrestling With Biblical Anthropomorphism" by Mark Sheridan
4. "Reading Scripture With The Church Fathers" by Christopher A. Hall
5. "Reading The Old Testament With The Ancient Church: Exploring the Formation of Early Christian Thought" by Ronald E. Heine
6. "Handbook on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament: Exegesis And Interpretation" by G. K. Beale
7. "History and Spirit: The Understanding Of Scripture According To Origen" by Henri De Lubac
8. "A New Heaven and a New Earth: Reclaiming Biblical Eschatology" by J. Richard Middleton
9. "Following the Footsteps of the Invisible: The Complete Works of Diadochus of Photike"
10. "The Death of the Messiah and the Birth of the New Covenant: A (Not So) New Model of the Atonement" by Michael J. Gorman
11. "Hidden But Now Revealed: A Biblical Theology of Mystery" by G. K. Beale & Benjamin L. Gladd
12. "Commentary On Hebrews" [Biblical Theology For Christian Proclamation] by Thomas R. Schriner
13. "Salvation Applied By The Spirit: Union with Christ" by Robert A. Peterson
14. "Moral Reflections on the Book of Job" Volume 1 Preface and Books 1-5 by Gregory the Great
15. "God Has Spoken: A History Of Christian Theology" by Gerald Bray
16. "We Believe in the Crucified and Risen Lord" Volume 3 [Ancient Christian Doctrine]
17. "Luke" New Testament III [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Beth Kreitzer
18. "Baptism In The Early Church: History, Theology, and Liturgy in the First Five Centuries" by Everett Ferguson
19. "Reading Scripture With The Reformers" by Timothy George

I go by the sufficiency of Scripture/the authority of Scripture is what I say over and over to our son Josiah. I remember these words of the apostle Paul written to Timothy his son in the Faith-

"But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived. But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them; And that from a child thou hast known the holy scripture, which is able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works" II Timothy 3:13-17.

I will close to rest my brain. Tomorrow is a Wednesday in the flow of Plan of Redemption. "Then cometh the end, when he shall have delivered up the kingdom to God, even the Father; then shall have put down all rule, and all authority, and power. For he must reign, till he hath put all enemies under his feet" 1 Corinth. 15:24,25

10:09 p.m. - 2015-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4