glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we are experiencing in our times a loss of depth

It is in the flux of time 1:57 PM Saturday afternoon. Outside it is 40 degrees/cold and windy. The sun is shining, which is nice. I do not enjoy dark gray days. A day always seems bearable is I can see the sun shining on this ball of rock floating in created space.

It is a Saturday therefore that means I volunteer at the Herrick District Public Library used books store from 10 AM till 1 PM. I left the house for the library book nook around 9:37 AM. When I got to the library I looked for a book of essays by Sven Birkerts titled, "The Other Walk". I located this book and I also came across another book of essays that I checked out the library titled, "The Temple of Texts" essays by William H. Gass. Last year I read Gass's novel "The Tunnel". After I got my library books I went down to the lower level of the library where is located the Book Nook. I opened up the store right at 10 o'clock AM. It was busy at the book nook, but I had time to read essays by Gass and Birkerts. I brought home there two used books from the book nook to add to our library-

"Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild" by Lee Sandlin

"Franklin And Winston: An Intimate Portrait Of An Epic Friendship" by Jon Meacham (I have in my library another book by Meacham titled, "American Gospel: God, The Founding Fathers, And The Making Of A Nation".)

When I got home I found Carol preparing food for our Resurrection Sunday feast. Carol has been preparing food for two days. She is cooking the boys Josiah and Caleb their favorite dishes. Carol is a good cook. I also consider myself a good cook. (Carol and I eat basic American food. We are not into fancy food dishes.)

I got up this morning around 7:05 AM. I made a pot of coffee and messed with our main computer. When Carol got up I made a pot of oatmeal and also fried eggs for breakfast. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and then it was time to hit the road for the local library. Existence keeps zooming by!

Last night I listened to music and read from these books-

"The Gutenberg Elegies: The Fate of Reading in an Electronic Age" by Sven Birkerts

"Dialogues Of Alfred North Whitehead" As Recorded By Lucien Price

We went to bed around 11:20 PM.

music primitive music

I finally got to sleep around 12:30 AM. I slept poorly once again. Weird dreams all night. But Time keeps going by. Soon it was time to rise and shine and sing for glory.

Well I will close to drink coffee. Carol is taking a nap. She has to pick up Josiah and Hannah at the Grand Rapids Airport at Midnight tonight.

2:22 p.m. - 2015-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4