glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the life of divine love

It is 10:22 AM Wednesday morning. It is 37 degrees and sunny here by Lake Michigan/West Michigan.

I got up this morning around 6:20 AM. I got up made a pot of coffee and then messed with our main computer. I listened to a hour long talk given by the British writer Will Self at some writer's conference this morning on Self's website. Carol got up as I was listening to Will Self's talk. I paused the Will Self talk and made Carol and I a pot of oatmeal. I ate my oatmeal listening to the rest of Self's talk. Last year I read Self's newest novel "Shark". I collect the writings of Will Self.

Will Self website
http://will-self.com/

After listening to Will Self's hour long talk I wrote in my paper diary and have been reading for morning devotions once again, "The Spiritual Canticle" by St. John of the Cross. So has gone by thusfar my morning. Carol is out walking our dog Rudy. She meets a friend for an early lunch around 11 o'clock AM. This afternoon Carol and I will go grocery shopping. Tomorrow morning Carol and I are going to a used books sale in Hudsonville at their Public Library, which is located near Holland MI.

Not much else to report. I quoted earlier from "The Spiritual Canticle" by St. John of the Cross because he sets forth a description of a true Christian/biblical spirituality. Last week I mentioned there are true Christians and false Christians-biblical spirituality and also unbiblical spirituality/False Religion/idol worship/bowing down to demons.

Yesterday in talking to my friend Tim he mentioned some Christians getting on his case for not going to church twice on Sundays. I thought to myself if these Christians read their Bibles each day/do they pray/do they practice sitting in contemplative silence/do they thirst for the Lord Jesus/do they long to go to Heaven and worship God forever and ever. It is easy to go church on Sundays, but to live a fervent Christian life is another matter all together. I do not see going to church a proof of being a lover of the Lord Jesus Christ/there is danger in making externals all that is important in being a Christian. I would recommend these Christians who think all that is important being a Christian is going to church twice on Sundays is to read "The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross". Also read these books at least once a year (I keep these books in arms reach of me all the time)-

"The Collected Works of St. Teresa of Avila"

"The Cloud of Unknowing: [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Orthodox Spirituality: A Practical Guide For The Faithful And A Definitive Manual For The Scholar" by Dumitru Staniloae

"Orthodox Psychotherapy: The Science of the Father" by Metropolitan of Nafpaktos Hierotheos

"John Ruusbroec: The Spiritual Espousals And Other Works" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Devotio Moderna: Basic Writings" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Miguel de Molinos: The Spiritual Guide" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

Well I suppose I will close to read some more of "The Spiritual Canticle" and enjoy the sunshine.

1Cor.13

[1] Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.
[2] And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.
[3] And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.
[4] Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,
[5] Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;
[6] Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;
[7] Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.
[8] Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.
[9] For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.
[10] But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.
[11] When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.
[12] For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.
[13] And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

10:56 a.m. - 2015-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4