glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a pelican in the wilderness

It is 11:17 AM Wednesday morning in the flow of life. These verses from First John (New Testament) come to mind when I am repeat the word Life inside my head, "For all that is in the world-the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life-is not of the Father but is of the world. And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever" 1 JN 2:16,17. I try to always listen to the Word of God.

I have had thus far a normal morning. Right now as I look out the window next to our main computer I see it is snowing lightly. I got up this morning around 6:50 AM. I got up made a fresh pot of coffee and then messed with our main computer locate in our living room. We do not live in a luxury apartment on 5th Ave. New York City. When I look around are home I can see Carol and I are not rich. Carol and I both grew up poor. I have always admired how hippies and beats lived/houses/furniture/environment. I wish sometimes we lived in big house with huge empty spaces. At times I feel cramped in this house. I long sometimes for room to breath. Maybe I am suffering lately from cabin fever.

I picked up Carol from work around 8:40 AM this morning. She went to bed around 9:26 AM this morning. She works tonight and then is off for four nights.

When my wife went to bed I was writing in my paper diary. I have done the usual stuff this morning. I fed our birds and then cleaned the kitchen. I went through my library to find books on being a loner/hermit. I read last night before going to sleep a book I got from the library book nook yesterday titled, "Party of One: The Loners' Manifesto" essays by Anneli Rufus. I collected these books this morning to look at or at least haunt me-

"The Hermitage Within" by A Monk (one of my favorite spiritual books)

"Teaching The Dead Bird To Sing: Living The Hermit Life Without And Within" by Paul Jones

"A Pelican In The Wilderness: Hermits, Solitaries And Recluses" by Isabel Colegate

"Solitude: A Return To The Self" by Anthony Storr

"Hermits: The Insights of Solitude" by Peter France

I have more books on this subject of solitude, but I am not in the mood to search for them in my book collection. I could list a ton of books in my library on the contemplative life/prayer, but some other time.

Last night I watched TV shows on Amazon Prime and went to bed and read "Party of One" till I got sleepy. Now it is another day to wait it out in silence. Well I do have music playing in the background, but I will soon shut down and sit in a state of non-activity. Watch the wheels spin inside my head.

Well I will close. Before I drift off I want to mention one more book that keeps coming to the surface of consciousness-

"The Solace Of Fierce Landscapes: Exploring Desert and Mountain Spirituality" by Belden C. Lane

"And it came to pass in those days, that he went out into a mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God." Luke 6:12

music: Bjork 'Debut'

11:47 a.m. - 2015-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4