glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

spiritualize the whole of Scripture for use by the Christian soul

It is 12:27 PM Monday afternoon in the ice flow. It is 24 degrees outside this afternoon. It is lightly snowing right now. I hope the snow stays away for awhile. Because we live so close to Lake Michigan we get Lake effect snow. As you drive east the snow stops and one can experience blue skies and sunshine.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. I made myself a pot of coffee when I got up to face union with Christ Jesus. I messed with our main computer and then I made myself a bowl of oatmeal. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and read for devotions from a book titled, "History and Spirit: The Understanding of Scripture According To Origin" by Henri De Lubac.

Carol got home from work around 8:15 AM. One thing I have realized more and more about my wife after being married to her for 35 years is that she loves to talk. When I first met my wife I thought she was a quiet person, but as the years have gone by I have noticed more and more that my wife tends to talk a lot. I am not a talker. I am friendly but I do not talk all the time. I spend a lot of time not talking. I am a writer. I am a man of few words. I do not talk because I do not have much to say that has not already be said. I hate coming off like a broken record. Also the things I like to talk about no one likes to talk about like God or the Bible/spiritual realities/life and death. So when my wife got home from work I put everything aside and listened to my wife talk. I love my wife and enjoy hearing her talk. I love everything about my wife. My wife is my joy. I always tell my wife she is my sunshine in this dark and sad world.

Carol went to bed around 9:10 AM and I left to visit thrift stores around 10:10 AM and got home around 11:45 AM. I found these used books to add to our library-

"Mariette In Ecstasy" a novel by Ron Hansen

"Gilead" a novel by Marilynne Robinson

"Sophie's Choice" a novel by William Styron (I collect the writings of Styron.)

"A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius" a novel by Dave Eggers

"Small Island" a novel by Andrea Levy

"Antichrist: Two Thousand Years of Human Fascination With Evil" by Bernard McGinn (I have many books by McGinn in our library.)

"Henrik Isben: A New Biography" by Robert Ferguson (I have in our library Ferguson's biography on the life of Henry Miller.)

This morning I called my friend/brother in Christ Tim and when he got home there was a telephone message from him. Tomorrow morning Tim and I are planning on having coffee together. I like having spiritual fellowship with Tim. Tim goes to the same church my wife goes to.

Last night I watched a little television and read my books. I went to bed early last night. Lately I seem to be out of it. I can not focus on anything for very long. Sometimes I just sit and do nothing but wait out the day/night.

Last night I read these books before going to bed-

"Second Letter To The Corinthians" [The Pillar New Testament Commentary] by Mark A. Seifrid

"Shark" a novel by Will Self

"Writers On Writing: Collected Essays from The New York Times" Introduction by John Darnton

Well I am tired so I will close to drift.

"[1] Moreover, brethren, I would not that ye should be ignorant, how that all our fathers were under the cloud, and all passed through the sea;
[2] And were all baptized unto Moses in the cloud and in the sea;
[3] And did all eat the same spiritual meat;
[4] And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.
[5] But with many of them God was not well pleased: for they were overthrown in the wilderness.
[6] Now these things were our examples, to the intent we should not lust after evil things, as they also lusted.
[7] Neither be ye idolaters, as were some of them; as it is written, The people sat down to eat and drink, and rose up to play.
[8] Neither let us commit fornication, as some of them committed, and fell in one day three and twenty thousand.
[9] Neither let us tempt Christ, as some of them also tempted, and were destroyed of serpents.
[10] Neither murmur ye, as some of them also murmured, and were destroyed of the destroyer.
[11] Now all these things happened unto them for ensamples: and they are written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the world are come.
[12] Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.
[13] There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it." 1 Corinth. 10:1-13

music: Andy Stott 'Faith In Strangers'

12:54 p.m. - 2014-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4