glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the modern ethic of perfect technical efficiency

It is 1:50 PM Saturday afternoon. It is a cold damp gray day here in West Michigan. I am home from the library book nook. I was busy today in the used books store. I sold $89.25 dollars worth of used materials. When not helping people I read from the book, "Reappraisals: Reflections On The Forgotten Twentieth Century" essays by Tony Judt. I brought home from the library used books store these used books to add to our library-

"The Belton Estate" a novel by Anthony Trollope (I already have this novel, but bought this one to give away.)

"Dr. Wortle's School" a novel by Anthony Trollope

"A Harlot High And Low" a novel by Honore De Balzac (I already have this novel, but was not sure so I bought it. I will keep it and give it away someday.)

"Lost Horizon" a novel by James Hilton

"A Stillness Heard Round The World: The End of the Great War: November 1918" by Stanley Weintraub (I have in our library two biographies written by Weintraub on Aubrey Beardsley and James McNeill Whistler.)

Carol is not home. She is out visiting a friend this afternoon.

I am tired so I will close. Last night we went grocery shopping and went to bed early.

music

I read after music "Shark" a novel by Will Self. This morning before going to the library book nook I wrote in my paper diary and read "Why Read The Classics" essays by Italo Calvino.

I will close to drift. I will watch some college football this afternoon. Existence keeps decaying.

the modern ethic of perfect technical efficiency

2:02 p.m. - 2014-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4