glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

there is a divine unity throughout the Bible

It is now in the Flow 9:56 AM Thursday morning. Another gray ugly day here by Lake Michigan. Another day to drift through Time. Carol has come home from work and gone to bed for the day. I had a dentist appointment at 8:20 AM this morning to have my teeth cleaned. I was home from the dentist by 9:10 AM. When I got home Carol was home from work sitting in the dining room looking through the morning newspaper. A picture of domestic tranquility.

I was up this morning around 6:11 AM. I got up made coffee and messed with our main computer. In the morning I read blogs in LiveJournal and Diaryland. After reading blogs I read music reviews, check my e-mail and then Facebook. I might watch music videos in YouTube. I am always looking for new music to listen to in my state of exile.

Last night I watched some television and read "History and Spirit: The Understanding Of Scripture According To Origen" by Henri De Lubac.

Yesterday we were talking about the history of biblical interpretation and Patristic exegesis. I recommend reading the commentaries in the series ANCIENT CHRISTIAN COMMENTARY ON SCRIPTURE General Editor Thomas C. Oden.

I thought for fun this morning I would list the commentaries I have in the series Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture. I am not going anywhere this morning and I enjoy listing books in my main study.

"Genesis 1-11" Old Testament I Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Andrew Louth

"Genesis 12-50" Old Testament II Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Mark Sheridan

"Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1-2 Samuel" Old Testament IV Ancient Commentary On Scripture Edited By John R. Franke

"Job" Old Testament VI Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture

"Psalms 1-50" Old Testament VII Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Craig A. Blaising & Carmen S. Hardin

"Psalms 51-150" Old Testament VIII Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Quentin F. Wesselschmidt

"Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song Of Solomon" Old Testament IX Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By J. Robert Wright

"Mark" New Testament II Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Thomas C. Oden & Christopher A. Hall

"John 1-10" New Testament IVa Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Joel C. Elowsky

"John 11-21" New Testament IVb Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture Edited By Joel C. Elowsky

"Acts" New Testament V Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Francis Martin

"Romans" New Testament VI Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Gerald Bray

"Hebrews" New Testament X Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Erik M. Heen & Philip D. W. Krey

"James, 1-2 Peter, 1-3 John, Jude" New Testament XI Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture Edited By Gerald Bray

"Revelation" New Testament XII Commentary On Scripture Edited By William C. Weinrich

The Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture commentaries are published by InterVaristy Press.

There is another series of commentaries titled THE CHURCH'S BIBLE "a new commentary series on books of the Bible composed of quotations from patristic and medieval commentaries". I have these volumes in this series in my main study-

"The Song of Songs" Interpreted by Early Christians and Medieval Commentators [Richard A. Norris Jr. translator and editor

"Isaiah" Interpreted by Early Christian and Medieval Commentators [Robert Louis Wilken translator and editor]

"Romans" Interpreted by Early Christian Commentators [J. Patout Burns Jr. translator and editor]

"1 Corinthians" Interpreted by Early Christian Commentators [Judith L. Kovacs translator and editor]

There is also another series of commentaries titled THE BIBLE in MEDIEVAL TRADITION published by Eerdmans.

"The Letter To The Romans" [The Bible in Medieval Tradition] translators & editors Ian Christopher Levy, Philip D.W. Krey & Thomas Ryan

"The Letter To The Galatians" [The Bible in Medieval Tradition] translator and editor Ian Christopher Levy

Well I could list more books, but I need a fresh cup of coffee. The Bible is one book, there is a divine unity throughout the Bible.

10:51 a.m. - 2014-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4