glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the priority of God in the salvation of humanity

It is now in the flow of life Life 12:23 PM Monday afternoon. It is a cold gray day here in West Michigan. At least it is not snowing today.

I have had thus far a normal day, but you never know when something bad will befall you.

I got up this morning around 6 o'clock AM. I got up early because I was tired of dreaming. So I got up made a pot of coffee and then messed with our main computer. Carol got up around 7 o'clock AM. I read after messing with our main computer a book titled, "The Gospel Of John: A Commentary" by Frederick Dale Bruner.

Carol and I left the house around 10 o'clock AM to do errands and visit thrift stores to look at used books. We found these used books to ADD to our library this morning.

"Why Read The Classics?" essays by Italo Calvino

"Regarding the Pain of Others" essays by Susan Sontag

"The Times Are Never So Bad: A Novella & Eight Short Stories" by Andre Dubus

"Reformation Thought: In Introduction" by Alister E. McGrath

"The Red Prince: The Secret Lives Of A Habsburg Archduke" biography by Timothy Snyder

"The Wonders Of The Invisible World" Stories by David Gates

When we got home from our errands Carol left to go to a get-together with nurse friends. I ate lunch, cataloged the used books I bought today into my LibraryThing site and wrote in my paper diary. So goes existence in this scary violent world.

Last night I watched television and read "Madame Bovary" a novel by Gustave Flaubert. I am really enjoying reading again the novel "Madame Bovary". The novel sings as I am reading it. Wonderful prose! A great translation out of the French of this novel. I have another translation of "Madame Bovary" in our library and might compare the translations. The novel is so good it is painful to read.

Well I will close to drift through the day.

"Madame Bovary" a novel by Gustave Flaubert [Translated by Lowell Blair; Edited and with an Introduction by Leo Bersani]

"Madame Bovary" a novel by Gustave Flaubert [A New Translation by Lydia Davis] This is the translation of "Madame Bovary" I have been reading. Lydia Davis also has done a prize winning translation of Proust's "Swann's Way".

I am also enjoying reading the book, "The Novels Of Flaubert: A Study Of Themes And Techniques" by Victor Brombert.

12:49 p.m. - 2014-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4