glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

face to face communion

The day goes by normal. I have been reading one of my many commentaries on the Gospel of John this afternoon. This afternoon I looked into our main box to see if there was anything I missed yesterday when I brought the mail in for Carol to look through. I found a sermon booklet in our mail box sent to me monthly from a Dutch Reformed church in Grand Rapids Mich.. The sermon was titled, GOD OUR SALVATION by the famous 18th century preacher William Gadsby born 1773 England.

I often in my blogs quote hymns from Gadsby's hymnal (which you can find online). As I reading Gadsby's gospel rich sermon I was reminded that in our library I have a set of sermons the famous 19th century English Nonconformist preacher Joseph Irons. Years ago I sold most of my books by Calvinistic Baptist, but kept a few like the Sermons of Joseph Irons (which you can read on online).

I have been reading a sermon titled FACE TO FACE COMMUNION by Rev. Joseph Irons this afternoon, which was delivered June 25, 1848 in Grove Chapel, Camberwell. I will quote from this sermon something I have been writing/stressing about in my blogs for many years, "a spiritual sight of the glory and beauty of the Lord Jesus Christ"

"Take one portion which was dropped from His own lips in confirmation of this. When Philip asked Him, "Lord show us the Father, and it sufficeth us," His answer was, "Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? He that hath seen me hath seen the Father: and how sayest thou then, show us the Father?" Can anything be more explicit than this? "He that hath seen me hath seen the Father also; and how sayest thou, show us the Father? Again He says, "I and my Father are one." So that the soul who is brought to Jesus can look up into Jesus' countenance, and behold His blood and righteousness for his acceptance under the influence of the Holy Ghost, and by the acting of living faith has seen God, has seen the Father. But now I want to draw a little closer. For many, many years past, certainly more than forty, have I known something of this; and I have found out only this week that my soul lies at too great a distance from Him now, though there are moments of sweet intimacy, of face to face communion with Him. I bless His name for this, but I would never have it interrupted. I would have it perpetuated; so settled, confirmed, and continued, that I might ever be near to God, and not "afar off." I know that there is such a thing as walking with God. I know there is such a thing as coming up out of the wilderness, leaning on the Beloved, and cleaving to the Lord with full purpose of heart. I know there is such a thing as the response going on as described by the prophet, "I will say it is my people, and they shall say the Lord is my God" in sweet, holy, unctuous fellowship and communion. And when these sweet seasons are realized, what a little thing the world appears! How contemptible all things then become! What toys are the highest attractions and all that pertains to this world! Soaring on high, in fellowship with God, and by the faith which He bestows to penetrate the veil, I look on the throne, and claim relationship to Him who lived, who died, who rose again, and now dwells within the veil; absorbed in Deity, lost to the things of time and sense, wrapt up in that all-glorious robe which Jesus wrought, I am half glorified in this sweet enjoyment of my covenant God. At such delightful seasons my soul seems waiting to soar away, where no obstacles intervene between my God and me; and when I sink back in the consciousness that I am still in the body, this is my consolation, that it cannot be long, that the period is not distant, when I shall see Him as He is, and be like Him for evermore" pg. 39,40 Volume 1 The Sermons of Joseph Irons

3:45 p.m. - 2014-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4