glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the claims of truth

It is 7:04 AM Sunday morning in the flow of life. I am up early because I was having weird dreams and I needed to free myself from this crazy dream activity so I got up to face the day. I can always go back to bed today if I start feeling sleepy. So I got up and made a pot of coffee. I have been looking at stuff on YouTube on the Charismatic movie titled The Holy Ghost. The reason I have been watching stuff on YouTube about this movie is that yesterday the lady who replaces me at the library book nook told me she had seen this movie made by Pentecostals and Charismatics and it made her very upset. This lady is a professing Christian, but is very immature in the Christian Faith. I have told her in the Past that Charismatics are not biblical, but she for some unknown reasons keeps getting involved in these heretical groups. I told her to find a local church that preaches the Cross of Christ Jesus, not miracles, prophecy, tongues etc. . . I told the lady her name is Karen to go to a church that preaches the Bible. Christians need to be under exegetical preaching. Christians need to read their Bibles and seek by the power of the Holy Spirit to live holy lives. Live a simple Christ-centered life.

I feel bad for people searching for a Christian community these days. It is a zoo out there in the Christian world. There are so many so-called groups calling themselves Christians and people who lack any knowledge of the Bible have to make decision who to follow. I tell people to read their Bibles and pray to the Lord to direct you. I seek to live only by what is clearly revealed in the Bible. The Bible is my sole authority not anything else (or anyone).

Last night our son Josiah called and in talking to him he was also wondering where to go to church. Joe and his wife Hannah just moved out to Washington and want to belong to a Christian community. Joe told me they had visited last Sunday a Swedish Covenant (Swedish Baptist General Conference). Hannah and Joe might visit today a Eastern Orthodox Church. But where to go as a Christian these days to live out your Christian community in a group of believers? I told Joe to pray to the Lord Jesus for guidance. But I know it is difficult to find a church, because I have not found one myself. The Lord knows our hearts. I told Josiah it is all a mystery to me.

I remember these words of the apostle Paul, "for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure" also "holding fast the word of life" Phil. 2:13,16a. I have been a Christian going on 44 years. I have gone to Bible College (Reformed Bible College) and Seminary (Reformed Theological Seminary). I have huge library that was built to enable me to study the Bible. I keep my mind and heart in the Bible. I also know from my readings that there is a core of Christian doctrine and spirituality that all Christians have basically followed throughout Church History. What I hold as a Christian is basic biblical Christianity. I am a conservative evangelical Reformed Christian. Traditional Christianity.

I remember these words of the apostle Paul, "All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work" 2 Tim 3:16,17.

We also read in Second Timothy people "having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away" 2 Tim 3:5.

I keep remembering these words of the apostle Paul, "But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but a new creation" Galatians 6:14,15.

Well I will close to read and wait. I have no plans for the day, but seek the Lord.



11:07 a.m. - 2014-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4