glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

raised up to the ray of divine darkness

It is 10:19 AM Friday morning in the flow. I am down in the lower level of our home feeling drained of all life energy. I should go back to bed and hope when I wake up I will be in a New World. Next to me is a book titled, "Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]. I have been reading this morning once again "The Roads To Zion Mourn" by Hugh Of Balma.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. Carol and I went to bed last night around 9:30 PM.

music

I have done the usual things this morning. My life is pretty much the same each day.

Last night I wandered the house and went to bed early. Now it is another day. I am down here trying to not fall into a coma. Carol is upstairs making a blueberry pie. Louisa is sleeping and Beth is talking to her mother. Beth plans to leave here around 1 o'clock PM to pick up Andy at the Grand Rapids Airport.

Well more could be written by I lack the energy. Here is a quote from "The Roads To Zion Mourn" by Hugh of Balma.

"110. Still, this last quotation from Denis has more to do with the highest knowledge of understanding than with an increasingly nimble upsurge, since according to the wisdom of Blessed Denis the only true knowledge of divine things is that which is left behind for the sake of the experiential knowledge of the upsurging action. Hence the spirit's upsurge encounters divine mercy, according to her needs, so that after she has spent a long time aspiring to bind her Beloved more intimately with more ardent chains of love, for the brief time that her capacity can handle, she can by rapture be granted the beatific vision, especially if she is cleansed from all restraints and finite things. She is then raised up to the rays of divine darkness, which is another name for the light of divine incomprehensibility, according to the words of Denis in his letter to Timothy [Dorotheus]: "The divine cloud is that unapproachable light in which God is said to dwell invisibly, on account of the surpassing brilliance."" pg. 153 Hugh Of Balma

music: Howe Gelb "The Coincidentalist"

10:40 a.m. - 2014-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8