glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the hidden sense will shine forth for true lovers

It is 10:07 AM Monday morning in the flow of salvation history. It is 60 degrees this morning and gray outside. It is another autumn morning here by Lake Michigan. Soon we will be seeing once again icebergs floating in Lake Michigan.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I got up had a glass of orange juice and messed with our main computer. In the mornings when I am online I read mainly music reviews and the diaries of my online friends in LiveJournal and Diaryland. I have noticed that I am finding the music of this generation not something I am drawn to the older I get. I am sensing a generational gap in music tasted these days. I am an old guy. How can an old guy like me relate to music created by young men or young women. I suppose there some things we all can relate to like love and death. I don't know why these days I feel like I am in a different place than the young people around me. I also sense that young people tend to brush me off because I am old. I am not cool now that I am an old man.

This morning I have done all the usual things I do like eat, write in my paper diary and read. My wife got home from work around 8:45 AM and has gone to bed for the day. I have been reading once again a book titled, "Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]. In this volume I am reading the treatise by Hugh Of Balma written towards the end of the 13th century titled, "The Roads To Zion Mourn". The other day in talking to a friend this volume kept coming to my mind when it comes to living constantly in the presence of the Lord Jesus Christ.

I have been reading the volume "Carthusian Spirituality" for years. I want this volume to be in my blood stream. I always find spiritual comfort in reading this volume and the volume "The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross".

So the morning flows by. Last night I read my books and watched television. Now it is another day.

Last night when not watching television I mainly read from these two books.

"Travels With Herodotus" by Ryszard Kapuscinski

"Schnitzler's Century: The Making Of Middle-Class Culture 1815-1914" by Peter Gay

Well I suppose I will close. Last night our son Josiah called from Washington. Joe and Hannah had a busy summer. They look forward to moving into their new place and starting their new teaching jobs there in Washington State. Next Monday our daughter Bethany and our granddaughter Louisa Mae will be visiting our for two weeks.

music: Cloud Nothings "Here And Nowhere Else"

10:31 a.m. - 2014-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8