glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God is the sole uncreated

I am now into the afternoon hours. I got out these books from my library on the Gospel of John to look at this afternoon.

"Johannie Discipleship as a Covenant Relationship" by Rekham M. Chennattu

"The Mission Of Jesus & The Disciples according to the Fourth Gospel" by Andreas J. Kostenberger

"John: Evangelist Of The Covenant People: The Narrative & Themes of the Fourth Gospel" by John W. Pryor

"The Anointed Community: The Holy Spirit in the Johannie Tradition" by Gary M. Burge

"Father, Son and Spirit: The Trinity and John's Gospel" by Andreas J. Kostenberger

"The God Of The Gospel Of John" by Marianne Meye Thompson

This morning I have been reading, "The Mission Of Jesus & The Disciples according to the Fourth Gospel" by Andreas J. Kostenberger. Lately I have been reading two other books by Kostenberger on The Gospel of John, "A Theology Of John's Gospel And Letters: The Word, the Christ, the Son of God" and "John" [Baker Exegetical Commentary On The New Testament].

What always mystifies when I look over my Christian past is that no one in the American Evangelical Movement wanted to use my spiritual gifts. Weird. Sometimes I wonder if somewhere in my Past I did something so bad that God determined that I was not worthy of the office of Teaching Elder. At the same time as I look over my Past I have experienced a negative reaction to my personal being. I do not think people in general like me as a person. I think also people who are professing Christians do not like me. I might give off bad vibes. It is all a mystery to me why I am not in some evangelical church sharing the Good News to lost undone sinners.

"[1] I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom;
[2] Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.
[3] For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;
[4] And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.
[5] But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.
[6] For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.
[7] I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
[8] Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing." 2 Tim. 4:1-8

12:38 p.m. - 2014-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8