glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rudolf Schnackenburg

I am once again down in the lower level of our home writing on my newest lap top computer. We are now in the noontime hours of this day. Existence keeps zooming by! I came down here to look at a three volume commentary on the Gospel of John titled, "The Gospel according to St John" three volumes by Rudolf Schnackenburg. I do not remember when I bought this three volume commentary on the Gospel of John by Schnackenburg. This three volume commentary on the Gospel of John was published in 1987. I might have bought it when we were at Reformed Theological Semianry, Jackson Mississippi.

Over the years I have bought many commentaries on all four Gospels of the New Testament. I have many commentaries on the Gospel of John in our library. Some of these commentaries on the Gospel of John I have never read because they are massive. Also I bought these commentaries believing I would need them when I was in the Gospel Ministry. Now I am just a 61 year old man studying the Gospel of John. I have never used this three volume commentary on the Gospel of John by Schnackenburg. I got it out because this morning I was reading a commentary on the Gospel of John titled, "The Gospel of John: A Commentary" by Frederick Dale Bruner and he mentioned this massive commentary on the Gospel of John by Schnackenburg, so I came down here to look at volume one of Schnackenburg's commentary on the Gospel of John. This commentary on the Gospel of John is over one thousand pages! The commentary on the Gospel of John by Bruner is 1281 pages long! In my upstairs study I have a two volume commentary on the Gospel of John titled, "The Gospel Of John: A Commentary" by Craig S. Keener that is over 1000 pages long.

When we were students at Reformed Bible College, Grand Rapids Michigan many years ago I took a class on the Gospel of John. In that class we used a commentary on the Gospel of John titled, "The Gospel According To John" [The New International Commentary On The New Testament] by Leon Morris. When we were at Reformed Theological Seminary, Jackson Mississippi I used this commentary on the Gospel of John, "The Gospel of John" Two Volumes [The Anchor Bible] by Raymond Brown.

Well I will close to read my commentaries on the Gospel of John. I have been reading my commentaries on John 1:14 "And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth."

Before closing I should mention the last books I have bought on the Gospel of John for our library.

"John 1-10" New Testament IVa [Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Joel C. Elowsky

"John 11-21" New Testament IVb [Ancient Christian Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Joel C. Elowsky

"John" [Baker Exegetical Commentary On The New Testament] by Andreas J. Kostenberger

"A Theology Of John's Gospel And Letters: The Word, the Christ, the Son of God" by Andreas J. Kostenberger

"Father, Son and Spirit: The Trinity and John's Gospel" by Andreas J. Kostenberger & Scott R. Swain

"The Gospel Of John: A Commentary" by Frederick Dale Bruner

"Johannine Discipleship as a Covenant Relationship" by Rekha M. Chennattu

"John 1-12" New Testament IV [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Craig S. Farmer

I recently pre-ordered this book coming out in Fall 2014, "Johannine Theology: The Gospel, the Epistles and the Apocalyse" by Paul A. Rainbow.

12:58 p.m. - 2014-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8