glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Creation

It is now 4 o'clock PM Sunday afternoon. I took my daily hot shower and now I am reading down in the lower level my new Reformation commentary titled, "John 1-12" New Testament IV Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited by Craig S. Farmer. I have been buying these Reformation commentaries as they are being published. I wonder what IVP plans to publish next in the series Reformation Commentary On Scripture. I have these volumes in this series thus far.

"John 1-12" New Testament IV Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Craig S. Farmer

"Acts" New Testament VI Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Esther Chung-Kim & Todd R. Hains

"Galatians, Ephesians" New Testament X Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Gerald L. Bray

"Philippians, Colossians" New Testament XI Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Graham Tomlin

"Ezekiel, Daniel" Old Testament XII Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Carl L. Beckwith

"Genesis 1-11" Old Testament I Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By John L. Thompson

I like reading these Reformation commentaries along with my modern biblical commentaries. For example reading the "Philippians, Colossians" NT XI Reformation Commentary On Scripture with this commentary on the Epistle to the Colossians "The Letters To The Colossians And To Philemon" [The Pillar New Testament Commentary] by Douglas J. Moo. And on the Epistle to the Ephesians a modern biblical commentary published in 1999 titled, "The Letter To The Ephesians" [The Pillar New Testament Commentary] by Peter T. O'Brien.

So time goes by this afternoon. I am doing a load of wash while down here looking at my books. I have next to my lap top a stack of books I bought a couple months ago in Grand Rapids. These are Christians books and not secular. I did buy a bunch of secular books when I was in Grand Rapids, but they are scattered throughout our library. I have these books stacked to me because I have no place to put them.

"The Heresy Of Orthodoxy: How Contemporary Culture's Fascination and Diversity Has Shaped Our Understanding of Early Christianity" by Andreas J. Kostenberger

"The Final Days Of Jesus: The Most Important Week Of The Most Important Person Who Ever Lived" by Andreas J. Kostenberger & Justin Taylor

"Handbook on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament: Exegesis And Interpretation" by G. K. Beale

"Paul the Missionary: Realities, Strategies and Methods" by Eckhard J. Schnabel

"Constructing Jesus: Memory, Imagination, and History" by Dale C. Allison Jr.

"Paul the Convert: The Apostolate and Apostasy of Saul the Pharisee" by Alan F. Segal

"From Creation to New Creation: Biblical Theology and Exegesis" Essays In Honor Of G. K. Beale Editors Daniel M. Gurtner & Benjamin L. Gladd

"This Is My Beloved Son: The Transfiguration Of Christ" by Andreas Andreopoulos

"Acts: An Exegetical Commentary Introduction And 1:1-2:47" Volume 1 by Craig S. Keener

"Acts: An Exegetical Commentary 3:1-4:28" Volume 2 by Craig S. Keener

I have to close to go make coffee for my wife.

5:33 p.m. - 2014-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4