glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a season in the wilderness

It is 12:57 PM Thursday afternoon right now here in West Michigan. It is sunny and 68 degrees right now. It could be warmer outside but it is a nice late Spring day thus far. We never know what is going to happen from one moment to the next. We always have to be ready for the Return of Christ Jesus. Now is the day of salvation. It is sad to think how many people die not ready for eternity.

I got up this morning around 6:59 AM. I was having some kind of apocalyptic end times dream before I woke up to face my existence. I got up made a pot of coffee and then messed with our main computer. After messing with our main computer for awhile I ate something and wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my 2014 paper diary I read for morning devotions from a book titled, "The Acts of the Risen Lord Jesus: Luke's account of God's unfolding plan" by Alan J. Thompson [New Studies In Biblical Theology].

Carol got home from work around 9:20 AM and went to bed around 10:20 AM for the day. She is now off four nights from work.

This morning I took Rudy for a walk at Window On The Waterfront and then visit two local thrift stores to look at their used books. I found these used books to ADD to our Book Collection or personal library-

"Lucky Jim" a novel by Kingsley Amis
"Songs Of The Doomed: More Notes On The Death Of The American Dream" Gonzo Papers Vol. 3 by Dr. Hunter S. Thompson
"The Abstract Wild" essays by Jack Turner
"The Land and Literature of England" by Robert M. Adams "A master storyteller's tour through English literature and its times"
"Songs Of Innocence And Of Experience" poetry by William Blake
"The Last Innocent White Man in America and other writings" by John Leonard
"Rommel Drives On Deep Into Egypt" poems by Richard Brautigan
"Desert Solitaire: A Season in the Wilderness" by Edward Abbey
"Who Was David Weiser? a novel by Pawel Huelle [Translated by Michael Kandel]
"The Forest for the Trees: An Editor's Advice to Writers" by Betsy Lerner
"The Echo Maker" a novel by Richard Powers
"The Poe Shadow" a novel by Matthew Pearl
"Consilience: The Unity Of Knowledge" by Edward O. Wilson
"Spiritus Mundi: Essays on Literature, Myth, and Society" by Northrop Frye

I paid five dollars for all these used books this morning. Books like the above make my mind expand. Why go anywhere when you can read all these interesting books. Why go outside to watch Rome or Babylon burn?

When I got home I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. Well I suppose I will close to catalog my new used books into my LibraryThing site.

music: Tombs "Savage Gold"

1:19 p.m. - 2014-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4