glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Victorian middle-class experience

It is 8:15 PM Tuesday night in the flow of my life. My life is flowing and is not dead still right now.

I had a normal day. I did not go anywhere after going out for breakfast with my wife this morning. I thought about going someplace today since the weather was so Spring like. But I never got out the door. I like hanging out around our house. I am a homebody. This home is my castle in the Wasteland. There is nothing outside the castle worth chasing after. "All is vanity!," says the Preacher. "I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and indeed, all is vanity and grasping for the wind" Eccl. 1:14.

I am trying to remember what I did today besides wander the house. I read all day that is what I did. When I am not reading I am contemplating. I also have been reviewing my life from my birth August 14, 1952 till today June 3, 2014. My brother Mike has a birthday soon. My brother Mike works for the Washington Post newspaper. I am the oldest of five siblings. I have two brothers and two sisters. I am not close to any of my brothers or sisters. We are all on Facebook except my youngest brother Robert Inman. Well Robert is on Facebook but he never posts anything. I should visit my brothers and sisters before I die. My wife and I often talk about going on a road trip to visit my sister Robin in Maryland.

I always tell folks I am a loner. I like being alone in this house as the American Empire comes to a crash. Well I am not alone since I am married and have a pet dog. Our second son Joe calls us and I talk to him once awhile. We pray for our children and grandchildren every day. We hope our children pray for us. We never know when we will be called before the Judgment seat of the Lord Jesus Christ. Now is the time to get right with the Lord. We can not count on tomorrow to be around to repent and believe the Gospel of God.

Tomorrow is a Wednesday in the flow. I am not sure what I will do tomorrow. Carol is off Thursday night from work. She left for work tonight around 7:55 PM. I am alone with my words tonight. I am listening to the new Bob Mould record "Beauty & Ruin". I have been into the music of Bob Mould since the 1980's. I got into the music of Husker Du when we lived in Houston Texas.

What did I read today when not staring off into space? I read from these books-

"Schnitzler's Century: The Making Of Middle-Class Culture 1815-1914" by Peter Gay

"The World of Yesterday" A Memoir by Stefan Zweig

"Borrowed Finery" A Memoir by Paula Fox

Well I do not know what else to report so I will close to fade into black.

music: Crowbar "Symmetry In Black"

8:44 p.m. - 2014-06-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4