glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the denial of death

It is 2:08 PM Saturday afternoon. The library book nook was not busy today. I had a few customers come in the book nook, but not many. My friend Tim stopped to look at used books and to chat. It is always a blessing visiting with Tim. He is a good brother in the Lord.

At the book nook when not helping people I read, "The World of Yesterday" A Memoir by Stefan Zweig. I brought home from the library book nook one used book to add to our library titled, "Songs Only You Know" A Memoir by Sean Madigan Hoen.

After volunteering at the book I stopped at a near by thrift store to look at their used books. I found these used books to add to our book collection.

"Ordinary Wolves" A Novel by Seth Kantner

"School For The Blind" A Novel by Dennis McFarland

"The Two-Edged Sword: An Interpretation of the Old Testament" by John L. McKenzie

"The Denial Of Death" by Ernest Becker

"Scoundrel Time" A Memoir by Lillian Hellman

"Annapurna: First Conquest of an 8000-meter Peak [26,463 feet]" by Maurice Herzog Leader of the French Himalayan Expedition [Translated from the French by Nea Morin and Janet Adam Smith]

When I got home after visiting the thrift store I found my wife going to bed for the day since she works tonight and tomorrow night. In the mail I received a used book I had ordered titled, "The Same Door" Short Stories by John Updike. This volume of short stories by Updike is the first volume of short stories published written by him. Updike wrote for the New Yorker magazine for many years.

Well more could be written but maybe later.

music: Young Widows "Easy Pain"

2:27 p.m. - 2014-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4