glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an oral biography

It is 11:14 AM Monday late morning. I did leave the house this morning to visit a near by thrift store to look at their used books. I found these used books to add to our library.

"Plain Speaking: An Oral Biography Of Harry S. Truman" by Merle Miller

"Balkan Ghosts: A Journey Through History" by Robert D. Kaplan (I have these two other books by Kaplan in my library, "The Ends Of The Earth: A Journey At The Dawn Of The 21st Century" and "Eastward To Tartary: Travels In The Balkans, The Middle East, And The Caucasus".)

"The Laments" a novel by George Hagen

"Merton: A Biography" by Monica Furlong

"Anna Karenina" a novel by Leo Tolstoy

"Oh The Glory Of It All" a memoir by Sean Wilsey

"Wild: From Lost To Found On The Pacific Crest Trail" memoir by Cheryl Strayed

"An American Childhood" memoir by Annie Dillard

Some of these used books I bought to donate to the library book nook for them to sale. Why pass up a good book. (my left ear is ringing as I type).

Before I left this morning an old family friend called (he is 84 years old and is losing his ability to think clearly) on the telephone. Usually Carol talks to Mr. Bob but I answered the phone because he has called twice and Carol was not able to talk to him because she was either at work or sleeping. So I talked to Mr. Bob for an hour and then after we ended our conversation I left the house to visit a local thrift store. I thought about going to a grocery store but could not find a solid reason to do so. I am sure Carol will go grocery shopping when she is off from work this week.

Well I will close to put my news used books down in the lower level. Existence keeps decaying.

11:39 a.m. - 2014-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4