glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the lovely radiance of Christ on the mountain

It is 8:49 AM Friday morning in the flow of existence. Outside this morning it is cold and gray. Still no signs of Spring are here where we live out our lives. I do not believe we will see any longer four seasons. All we will now experience is Winter. It is time to face reality and that it is the beginning of the end of the world.

I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. Carol and I did not get to bed till sometime pass 1 o'clock AM. When I got up I made a pot of coffee and ate pancakes.

This morning we are going grocery shopping. The rest of the day is unknown. Right now Carol is sleeping.

Yesterday I left the house around 1 o'clock PM for Grand Rapids. I had eight hours ahead of me before I had to pick up Carol at the Grand Rapids Airport. When I got to Grand Rapids I visited a used bookstore in an area in GR called East Town. At this used bookstore I bought these books for our library.

"The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen" With an introduction by Angus Wilson

"The Sot-Weed Factor" a novel by John Barth

"Sputnik Sweetheart" a novel by Haruki Murakami

"Vanessa Bell" a biography by Frances Spalding

After visiting this used bookstore I drove over to Eerdmans Christian Bookstore and looked around. I bought these books at Eerdmans.

"Paul the Missionary: Realities, Strategies and Methods" by Eckhard J. Schnabel

"The Heresy Of Orthodoxy: How Contemporary Culture Fascination with Diversity Has Reshaped Our Understanding of Early Christianity" by Andreas J. Kostenberger & Michael J. Kruger

"This Is My Beloved Son: The Transfiguration Of Christ" by Andreas Andreopoulos

"The Acts Of The Apostle" [The Pillar New Testament Commentary] by David G. Peterson

After buying these books at Eerdmans I drove over to Baker Book House another Christian book store and bought these books.

"Paul the Convert: The Apostolate and Apostasy of Saul the Pharisee" by Alan F. Segal

"Handbook on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament: Exegesis And Interpretation" by G. K. Beale

"Constructing Jesus: Memory, Imagination, and History" by Dale G. Allison Jr.

"Acts: An Exegetical Commentary 3:1-14:28" Volume 2 by Craig S. Keener

I stayed a Baker House at their coffee shop till almost 7 o'clock PM waiting for the time to drive over to the airport to pick up Carol. While at Baker's I read, had a mocha and wrote in my paper diary. I left Baker's around 7 o'clock PM and on the way to the airport I stopped at a Wendy's and had a meal.

Carol's plane was an hour late. Her plane came in at 9:25 PM. I read while waiting for her the book, "This Is My Beloved Son: The Transfiguration Of Christ" by Andreas Andreopoulos.

We got home from GR around 10:30 PM last night and did not get to bed till 1 o'clock AM.

music

Carol bought these used books home for me for our book collection.

"Burning The Days" memoir by James Salter

"Berlin Diaries 1940-1945" by Marie Vassiltchikov

"Prisoners of the Good Fight: The Spanish Civil War 1936-1939: Americans Against Franco Fascism" by Carl Geiser

"Alias Grace" a novel by Margaret Atwood

"Runaway" stories by Alice Munro

So the morning goes by. Well I will close to get moving. Carol is up and it is time to get back to normal.

9:23 a.m. - 2014-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4