glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the house smells like patchouli oil

the house smells like patchouli oil

I am home from work. I got out of the egg pit at 2:30 PM and now the time is 3:41 PM. Carol was not home when I got home from work. I do not know where she is? Last night she got in around 9:30 PM. She bought me gifts on her get away. She bought me two blocks of fudge, a vial of patchouli oil, a bar of patchouli soap and a used book titled "The Herbert Huncke Reader" Edited By Benjamin G. Schafer With A Foreword By William S. Burroughs. I very pleased to be given this fine hardback edition of The Herbert Huncke Reader! The book is a fine addition to my Beat collection. Carol did not know if I had this book in my Beat collection, but took a chance and bought it for me. My wife knows I am a student of the Beats. I took the book with me to work, but no one ever heard of Herbert Huncke.

From Library Journal

Petty thief, drug addict, and Times Square hustler, Huncke (Guilty of Everything, LJ 4/1/90) led the writers of the Beat Generation from the rarefied halls of Columbia University to an exciting world of sex, drugs, and crime. He appears as a character in several Beat works including Jack Kerouac's On the Road, Allen Ginsberg's Howl, and William Burroughs's Junkie. Huncke lacked in formal education but was nonetheless charming and articulate, a gifted storyteller. Encouraged by Ginsberg and others, he published several books, including Huncke's Journal (1965) and The Evening Sun Turned Crimson (1980). This posthumously published collection reprints these two titles, long unavailable, and includes excerpts from Huncke's autobiography, as well as previously unpublished stories and letters. Highly recommended for all literature collections.William Gargan, Brooklyn Coll. Lib., CUNY

Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

I had a normal day at work. Lately my mind has been thinking about the Past. Do not know why? Maybe it is because it is autumn?

It was nice to sleep with my wife again last night. I love my wife with all my being (and my children).

Carol is home and I will close to be with her.

[listening to The Who "Live At Leeds" Deluxe Edition]

4:07 p.m. - 2003-09-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts