glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I write for God's ear\"

the ghost of Herman Melville himself followed by Barteby the Wall Street Scrivener and Pierre the ambiguous hipster of 1848 out on a walk

My day Off has gone by quietly. I like quiet days at home reading my books and writing. This afternoon I put some more diaries in plastic tubs. I also threw out tons of old religious magazines and book catalogs. I also plan to take a bag of gospel tracts to our church tomorrow morning. I use to collect calvinistic literature, but not now. I need to clean out my library next of books that I do not look at or have no contection to me-present place in my spiritual development-I am into the Bible these days and not classical Reformed Theology. I am not into Puritan Theology-Spirituality either these days. I am into getting from one work day to the next In the Lord Jesus Christ. I do not know what the american Christian life is suppose to look like? All is a mystery to me. I do know I have to work and someday I will go to heaven. "Behold, now we are the children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is. And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure" First John 3:1-3. So I cleaned my library room of old literature-I had some calvinistic literature going back to the early 70's Reformed Baptist Sovereign Grace magazines-I got these magazines when I was introduced to the Doctrines of Grace through the writings of A.W. Pink and the 16th cent. English Puritans-also the late Dr. Lloyd-Jones (today I looked at how much it would cost me to finish buying the rest of Lloyd-Jones Exposition of the Epistle to the Romans-I have to buy these volumes of his to complete my Set-"Romans 10-Saving Faith" $24.00, "Romans 11-To God's Glory" $19.50, "Romans 12-Christian Conduct" $27.99 And "Romans 13-Life In Two Kingdoms" $18.00). I want to buy a book that is coming out this month titled "A History of Biblical Interpretation: The Ancient Period" Editors Alan J. Hauser & Duane F. Watson-there are also books to buy and CD's that is why I can not retire and become a hermit.

I have been reading most of the day these two books (Bethany left for work around 3:45 PM so the house has been very quiet) "The Portable Sixties Reader" and "Kerouac and Friends: A Beat Generation Album" I read this book with fountain pen in hand to write down Quotes-here are some-"the ghost of Herman Melville himself followed by Bartleby the Wall Street Scrivener and Pierre the ambiguous hipster of 1848 out on a walk" Kerouac "The Roaming Beatniks"

"We can look at the picture and remember it when we're wise old white-haired Thoreaus in cabins" Kerouac

". . . prophets howling in the wilderness. That, in fact, is what the whole Beat Generation is, if it's anything-prophets howling in the wilderness against a crazy civilization" Allen Ginsberg

"Sometimes saddened by the jeers of a daily press that knows little more than the word "Beatnik," Ginsberg says quietly and with sureness, "Well, I guess it doesn't matter in the long run. . . I write for God's ear." pg.109 "Kerouac and Friends"

I also cleared our driveway of snow and ice today and then went downtown for a mocha. Now here I sit recording my existence which I have been doing since 1968. Carol just got up so I will close to visit with her.

6:45 p.m. - 2003-02-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts