glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the divine light is precisely to unity the human mind with the mind of God

the divine light is precisely to unify the human mind with the mind of God

It is a wet gray Sunday afternoon in my simple existence. I got up this morning around 7:15 AM to face a new work week. This week I start my 10th year at the Hamilton Farm Bureau-Egg Division. I am thankful for the Lord giving me the grace to work at the egg pit for the last nine years. The Lord has been good to the Keen pack. So I got up and fixed myself a cup of tea and wrote an e-mail to some friends who live on the Great Plains. Carol came home from work and we talked till 9:15 AM about my problems with religious life in America especially attending Messiah Independent Reformed Church. I woke up this morning feeling sick to my being about attending church. I am still upset about the discussion I had with one of the church elder's last Sunday in the Men's bathroom about Caleb Jon and congregational life at Messiah. So this morning that is what I got talking to Carol about and before I knew it was too late for Josiah and I to go to church. Carol went to bed and Josiah decided to go back Calvin College this morning instead this afternoon-so we left and now I am home drinking a coke listening to Massive Attack. After dropping off Josiah this morning I did stop at Barnes & Nobles to go to the bathroom and to look around-I did BUY a book that goes along with my current reading on Jonathan Edwards and American Church History-I bought the book "America's God: From Jonathan Edwards to Abraham Lincoln" by Mark A. Noll - I have several books by Noll-check out especially his book "The Scandal of the Evangelical Mind"-the last book I bought by Noll was "The Old Religion in a New World: The History Of North American Christianity"-I also have his book "A History of Christianity in the United States and Canada"-I like to read books on the history of American Christianity when not dying of exhaustion at the Egg Processing Factory. I have never met any other Christian interested in talking about the history of American Christianity. I must be a freak and not a normal American Christian.

Right now it is 1:22 PM Bethany is watching television and Carol is sleeping. I am still feeling depressed about American Religious Life but there is nothing I can do but keep marching down the road of death.

Yesterday I blew out my brain reading a ton of stuff-I read stuff on Puritan Eschatology-the theology of Jonathan Edwards-the sermons of Jonathan Edwards-I stayed up late with Josiah-Josiah and played Scrabble last night. Carol went to work and I went to bed at 12:15 AM.

I won't repeat what Carol and I talked about since it has been written down many times in my Book of My Life. I want Carol to be happy. I want my kids to be happy.

Yesterday I got a real blessing reading the Book "Encounters With God: An Approach to the Theology of Jonathan Edwards" the chapter 'Spiritual Perception in Jonathan Edwards'-here is a quote from this chapter "If there is a mystical dimension to Edward's teaching on illumination, it lies in his insistence that the divine light not only gives knowledge but also becomes one with the knower and transforms him or her."

I read last night a sermon by Edwards found in the two massive volume set THE WORKS OF JONATHAN EDWARDS published by the Banner of Truth Trust-I read the sermon "True Grace Distinguished From The Experience Of Devils" this sermon I read again because it always comes to my mind when talking to Phin Lo and people at church "Thou believest that there is one God; thou dost well: the devils also believe, and tremble" James 2:19

I am tired which is normal for me. I suppose I will close to seek the face of God.

1:58 p.m. - 2002-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts