glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

theological knowledge is won by experiencing it

theological knowledge is won by experiencing it

My Life is going by and I am fighting to stay awake! Carol just left to take a walk. When she gets back she is going to bed. She has to work tonight, I am tempted to go to bed with her since I am dead tired and cold. But if I go to bed now I will be up all night. I have to go to bed when I am dead tired. I only need six hours sleep-it is rare I sleep eight hours. If I were to sleep only two hours this evening I would be up all night. I should go fix myself a cup of hot tea-I have been trying to READ "A Theology Of Word & Spirit" [Christian Foundations] by Donald Bloesch. I was reading "The Church" by Bloesch and he referred to this volume when seeking to define Theology. I have been reading the chapter titled 'Toward The Renewal Of Theology" in Bloesch's book "A Theology Of Word & Spirit"-I read some of this chapter before Carol went for a walk-I read what Bloesch wrote on the differences between dogma and doctrine. I do not know anyone who cares to know anything about theology, dogma or doctrine. Everybody is out seeking the things of the world. "Adulterers and adulteresses! Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God? Whoever therefore wants to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God" James 4:4. "Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also" Matthew 6:19-21. I do not understand how a person can profess to be a Christian and not read his Bible or go to church-seek the fellowship of the saints? In talking to Phin Lo I have found out he does not read the Bible or have any kind of spiritual fellowship. I invited him to come to church with us this coming Sunday, but he made all kinds of excuses. Phin Lo tells me he is too busy to study the Bible. I do not know what he does with his time since he has no children. I does not seem to have any spiritual hunger. I have noticed that Phin Lo never talks about divine realities-he talks about nothing important-he is always complaining-never enough money. Phin Lo works and his wife works-they have no children-they live an apartment owned by his father-in-law-they pay no rent. I am beginning to doubt if Phin Lo is saved. I do not see any evidence of spiritual life-if there is any spiritual life it is very weak. I offered even to take Phin Lo to the Church History class held at our church on Wednesday nights, he made some excuse. I have offered my library to Phin Lo so he can get deep into the Bible, he did not take up my offer. I told him today I do not like talking about things of no importance-as Christians we are to speak of heavenly things Not worldly things all the time-what comes out our mouths reveals what is in our hearts. Out of the heart the mouth speaketh. I would doubt my salvation if all I ever talked about was money. I would doubt if I was a Christian if all I did was read secular stuff and not spiritual books. I do not think Phin Lo reads anything.

But what I see in Phin Lo I see in the people I go to church with so it is not unusual. Today people have become dead to the life of the mind-they have forgotten we are to love God with all our mind. Phin Lo needs to read "A Treatise of Earthly-Mindedness" by the Puritan Jeremiah Burroughs (1599-1646) also in this volume is Burroughs treatise "Of Conversing in Heaven, and Walking with God"-is Phin Lo consciously walking with God? Am I consciously walking with God each day? What am I seeking? I keep thinking of these words of the Apostle Paul in the Epistle of the Philippians-I quote Phil 3:7-14

"7: But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

8: Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

9: And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:

10: That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;

11: If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.

12: Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

13: Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

14: I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus." Phil.3:7-14

Phin Lo should read the book "Heaven Taken by Storm-Showing the Holy Violence A Christian is to Put Forth in the Pursuit After Glory" by Thomas Watson.

Well we all fail in the end. We must look to the Lord to save us. "I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus."

Carol went to bed and the house is quiet. I got out a CD by Idaho-I suppose I will go back to reading Bloesch. Tomorrow it is suppose to rain and snow-there is no escape. I can only hope I do not die in a car wreck on M-40.

7:47 p.m. - 2002-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts