glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Need Direction

I am home from work-it was a hard day at work-I am super tired-I need to go to bed soon and find healing-I had a ton of crap on my brain today at work-now it is all forgotten-well not all of it is forgotten-I did write down some stuff on a piece of paper to remember-background information to the note I am about to copy-recently I came across a livejournal where the individual was reading Vollmann's book "The Royal Family"-I received a couple e-mails from a fellow who is into Vollmann and has read "The Royal Family" twice-anyway I shared some of my thoughts on the book with this fellow and he shared some of his thoughts-last night I got the book "The Royal Family" out of the basement library room and read some more-the book bothers me-but Why? here is what I wrote at work off the top of my tired brain "Vollmann-reflections-for me as a Christian life is not just physical-earthly-there is the spiritual world which is the real world-this world is passing away-the Kingdom of God has come and will come in the future in perfection. The book "The Royal Family" is tragic because all the characters are dead spiritually-No spiritual life-no knowledge of God-the characters are all slaves of their depraved natures-the devil-evil wickedness-No beauty of holiness seen in their lives-no godliness-no love for God and their neighbors-all that awaits for these people in the book "The Royal Family" is Hell." the end of my note-these verses from the Bible came to my mind in relationship to the characters in the book "The Royal Family"---

"There is no fear of God before their eyes" Romans 3:18 and a verse in Psalm 119 verse 136 "Rivers of water run down from my eyes, Because men do not keep Your law"-I want to check out sometime soon Thomas Manton' s sermon on Psalm 119:136.

Last night not only did I exchange e-mails on Vollmann-but I wrote an e-mail to the minister who wrote the book "In Defense Of The Decalogue: A Critique Of New Covenant Theology" by Richard C. Barcellos-he wrote back a short e-mail and I wrote back a second e-mail-have not received a reply from the e-mail.

So work was a pain in the butt-drove home in a rain storm-went to the bank-came home-found Carol cooking dinner-Joe is working-Beth is somewhere out in the dead world-in the mail I received a book I ordered titled "Jesus, Justice, And The Reign Of God: A Ministry Of Liberation" by William R. Herzog II-nothing else came in the mail worth mentioning.

Well I am wasted from work-I need to rest-I need to eat dinner-this evening a old friend might stop by for a visit-I will close to listen to Teenage Fan Club.

5:33 p.m. - 2001-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts