glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the intellectual life of the Augustan's

It is 2 o'clock PM Wednesday afternoon in the death flow. It is a gray day. It is suppose to storm today. We need warm rainy days here in West Michigan.

Carol and I both got up this morning around 6:30 AM. I made a fresh pot of coffee and a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer. I down loaded this morning a video I made last night while Carol was gone for church meeting.

After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and I then left the house around 10 o'clock AM to visit local thrift stores in search of used books to add to our library. I found these used books today at thrift stores-

'The Empathy Exams' essays by Leslie Jamison

'Chasing the Sun: The Epic Story of the Star That Gives Us Life' Natural history by Richard Cohen

'"Johnny We Hardly Knew Ye" Memories of John Fitzgerald Kennedy' by Kenneth P. O'Donnel and David F. Powers with Joe McCarthy

'Bloomsbury: A House Of Lions' biography by Leon Edel

'Modern Technology And The Human Future: A Christian Appraisal' by Craig M. Gay

'Dispatches From The Revolution: Russia 1916-1918' Tania Rose, editor

'The Teller of Tales: In Search of Robert Louis Stevenson' biography by Hunter Davies

'Autumn' a novel by Ali Smith

'A Possible Life' a novel by Sebastian Faulks

'King Of The World: Muhammad Ali and the Rise of an American Hero' biography by David Remnick

'Green Delusions: An Environmentalist Critique of Radical Environmentalism' by Martin W. Lewis

'Dreaming War: Blood For Oil And The Cheney-Bush Junta' essays by Gore Vidal

'The Judge' a novel by Rebecca West

'Dr. Woodward's Shield: History, Science, And Satire In Augustan England' by Joseph M. Levine

'Error And The Academic Self: The Scholarly Imagination, Medieval to Modern' by Seth Lerer

'The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account Of Native People In North America' by Thomas King

When I got home from visiting Thrift stores is was going on 12 o'clock PM. I ate lunch and then started cataloging the used books I got today into my LibraryThing site. Carol came home while I was cataloging used books.

So the day has gone by. I will close to have a fresh cup of coffee.

2:38 p.m. - 2019-04-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act